BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


OM-1 35mm SLR Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Total Lunar Eclip...
View photos created with this camera

The OM-1 35mm SLR Camera


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 35 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Calgarey Penn

member since: 10/3/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I purchased this camera in 1975 and have never regretted owning it. I continue to use it when shooting transparancies as well as 35mm B & W that I scan to digital format. I learned alot about the fundamentals of photography with this camera. It is a rugged, reliable product that I will continue to use in the future.
12/20/2006 10:54:58 AM
 
Philippe Remels
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/9/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The OM1 was my first SLR back in 75. I think it taught me a lot and I'm grateful for that. So much so that I recently bought a used one to replace my original that was stolen. Its price on second-hand market is relatively high (around EURO 150 / $ 170 for the body) because of its success in amateur astronomy milieux. Originally it was a winning price/quality compromise. (I remember paying about EURO 400 for the body and 50mm lens kit.) I still like it and use it for its robustness, autonomy and the full control it gives you. When going for a trek I prefer it over the digital SLR or any others because of these qualities.
6/11/2006 9:58:50 AM
 
Jennifer A. Rehm

member since: 4/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first camera and it took stellar pictures. Its simplicity allowed me to learn the basics on a totally manual camera, before I had the ease of auto zoom. The biggest skill it taught me was patience for macro shots.
4/30/2006 3:12:56 PM
 
Timothy J. Hoeflich
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/12/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought this camera almost 30 years ago, and it is still a great camera with very good optics and a rugged metal body. Just a great classic simple but effective 35 mm camera.
4/5/2006 7:26:33 AM
 
Ross Domoney
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/21/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
one of the oldest but best cameraasss in the world! very simular to the pentax mx. is a very good camera if u want to learn about how everything works...
2/21/2006 11:09:18 AM
 
Daniel J. Souther

member since: 2/6/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For a fully manual film slr camera, I give it a 4. I haven't used many others though! The one I use is my Dad's 20 year old camera. It is a very good camera to learn on.
2/6/2006 9:31:46 PM
 
Angel Kidwell
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A good reliable camera
12/18/2005 2:47:57 PM
 
Janice M. Baer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/15/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is the first SLR I ever used so I have a sentimental attachment to it but I do not use it that much these days. It is a simple manual use only camera with a plus/minus indicator for a meter. No bells and whistles. Easy to use.
11/15/2005 5:33:45 AM
 
Andrew Kriz

member since: 9/17/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just plain awsome. Really like the simplicity, strength, and relative light weight. The shutter speed is located at lens base (great idea), which makes all image adjustments acessible to your left hand.
9/17/2005 4:33:55 PM
 
Tony Prower

member since: 4/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fully manual. Clockwork camera, original and the best.
4/28/2005 7:55:05 AM
 
Terry Lee Cook

member since: 1/18/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Not knowing very much about cameras and photography, I purchased this camera simply because it was affordable. I am very pleased with the results, although I do miss some shots because of the manual focus. I generally use 800 film.
1/18/2005 11:17:18 PM
 

First 10 of 35 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.