FinePix S5600 Digital Camera


Fuji

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Vampire Girl
View photos created with this camera

The FinePix S5600 Digital Camera

  • 5.1 million effective pixels
  • 1/2.5 inch Super CCD HR
  • Number of total pixels: 5.22 million
  • xD-Picture Card™
  • Fujinon 10x optical zoom lens, F3.2 - F3.5
  • Auto focus AF system: TTL contrast-type AF frame selection: AF(centre), AF(multi), AF(area)
  • AF assist illuminator
  • Shutter Speed 15 sec. to 1/2000 sec. depending on shooting mode
  • Flash Auto flash
  • Effective range:Wide angle approx. 30cm – 4m
  • Telephoto approx. 80cm – 4m
  • Flash Mode: Auto, Red-eye Reduction, Forced Flash, Suppressed Flash, Slow Synchro.
  • Red-eye Reduction + Slow Synchro
  • Power source options: 4 x AA-size Alkaline batteries
  • 4 x AA-size NiMH batteries (not included, sold separately)
  • AC Power Adapter AC-5VX (not included, sold separately)

    © Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    15 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 4 out of 5

    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Martin Van Aswegen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2007 5:14:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2007 5:14:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2007 5:14:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2007 5:14:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2007 5:14:24 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Awesome camera for an amateur photographer lik me. very good all round.
    6/2/2007 5:14:24 AM
     
    Arne W. Hjelm 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2007 1:48:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2007 1:48:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2007 1:48:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2007 1:48:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2007 1:48:53 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    Just started to use my new camera.
    I had a Canon old style camera before.
    Ther are so much more to this camera and I need time to evaluate.
    Attached a few pictures that´s OK.
    Bye!
    3/18/2007 1:48:53 PM
     
    Jovan Djokic
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/17/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 12:14:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 12:14:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 12:14:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 12:14:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2007 12:14:09 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I bought my S5600 in October of last year, and it was the beginning of my venture into amateur photography.
    It's a great bridge-compact that will slowly prepare you for any potential moves into DSLR territory. It has all the essential (and then some) requirements to make great amateur photographs. Shutter speed and aperture control, ISO control, manual focus (although a manual lens would have been nice), excellent 10x zoom, white balance, macro mode and the list goes on and on. On the macro-mode note, I find that the S5600 produces great macro photographs. Whether you use the auto-focus or manually focus on your subject, the macro-mode result comes out great. I have a couple of examples in my gallery, feel free to have a look. I even purchased a Wide-Angle Lens which doesn't give you a much wider angle, but it's not bad (although the lack of availability of filters, for example, is disappointing.) The zoom on the camera is also very pleasing.
    All in all, the Fujifilm S5600 is a great camera, that just needs your imagination and good eye for a photo, to make stunning images, and will prepare you for any possible DSLR purchases you may wish to make in the future.
    2/23/2007 12:14:09 PM
     
    Geoff Harrison 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2006 2:24:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2006 2:24:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2006 2:24:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2006 2:24:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2006 2:24:10 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I've had this camera for some time now, I have had a few minor problems/dislikes such as it dosen't have a "real" manual lenes (it can do manual, but throught a series of buttons)

    But, it's got grat battery life, good zoom and it's relativly easy to use.

    10/14/2006 2:24:10 AM
     
    Tom Alexander Gavriel
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/1/2006
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 2:10:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 2:10:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 2:10:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 2:10:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 2:10:33 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    i love this camera have only had it a few days but its taken some nice sharp photos.
    5/18/2006 2:10:33 PM
     
    Raymond C. Morrison
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/15/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 3:53:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 3:53:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 3:53:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 3:53:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 3:53:25 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Good for outdoor colours on a flat day. Gives the same effect as with Fuji 35mm film. Choose your film the same as your camera...!
    5/15/2006 3:53:25 PM
     
    Kelli-Anne Sutton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:56:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:56:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:56:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:56:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 3:56:31 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    New Camera still learning all of the settings
    4/20/2006 3:56:31 AM
     
    Mark  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:58:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:58:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:58:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:58:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:58:37 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I'm really pleased with this camera. I upgraded from the Fuji s5000 which I loved. I just went for the extra things that came with the upgrade to this camera.I love the 10x optical zoom.
    4/19/2006 11:58:37 PM
     
    David  R. Schwarz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:10:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:10:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:10:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:10:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 11:10:49 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I've had this camera for about a month now and i'm very happy with the battery life and handling. Regarding the picture quality: you just have to accept that it's an "outside camera". It takes great shots when you're outside and the sun is shining. But as soon as the light is low or you can't use a flash when you should, the pictures are really bad. At high ISO settings, the pictures are blurry and noisy. Summed up: It takes great macro and outdoor shots but you can forget trying to photograph anything that moves when the lights aren't really bright... and one more thing: the camera tends to overexpose on auto mode.
    4/19/2006 11:10:49 PM
     
    Adrian  3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:15:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:15:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:15:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:15:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 12:15:42 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    some exposure problems
    4/14/2006 12:15:42 PM
     
    Barta János 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 3:19:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 3:19:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 3:19:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 3:19:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 3:19:23 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This camera is a perfect one for an amateur photographer like me.
    4/2/2006 3:19:23 PM
     
    Dana Iti 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:09:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:09:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:09:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:09:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:09:21 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    We needed a camera because my son was about to be born, we had a price range for an quality cam, so we bought a ricoh caplio r2. I was really dissapointed with the results, alot of images were really noisy. I took the ricoh caplio r2 back to the shop and swapped with this one, fujifinepix s5200/s5600. Ricoh has good macro and a few sharp images but thats about it, just about all of my images on my new fuji are brilliant. Fujifilm was also cheaper and I have manual controls too. Love this camera, check out my pics, I think Ive done a good job for a photographer of 1 month and no courses taken.
    2/18/2006 1:09:21 AM
     
    Dana Iti 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:00:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:00:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:00:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:00:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 1:00:31 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    We needed a camera because my son was about to be born, we had a price range for an quality cam, so we bought a ricoh caplio r2. I was really dissapointed with the results, alot of images were really noisy. I took the ricoh caplio r2 back to the shop and swapped with this one, fujifinepix s5200/s5600. Ricoh has good macro and a few sharp images but thats about it, just about all of my images on my new fuji are brilliant. Fujifilm was also cheaper and I have manual controls too. Love this camera, check out my pics, I think Ive done a good job for a photographer of 1 month and no courses taken.
    2/18/2006 1:00:31 AM
     
    Lai  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 1:28:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 1:28:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 1:28:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 1:28:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 1:28:40 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Just bought on Jan. 2006. Image quality is perfect. Video is excellent due to super CCd. A good family digital camera. A little bit slow at low light condition.
    2/1/2006 1:28:40 AM
     
    Keyur J. Gor 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:59:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:59:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:59:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:59:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 3:59:36 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    gives nice color and has a great lens with 10x optical zoom.
    12/12/2005 3:59:36 AM
     

    15 Reviews  


  •