Nikkormat FTn Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Abstraction - V
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Heather L. Morris 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:45:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:45:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:45:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:45:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:45:33 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great camera with great lenses - I learned alot from this one and it's a classic!
4/6/2006 10:45:33 AM
 
Larry T. Miller 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 1:28:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 1:28:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 1:28:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 1:28:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 1:28:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought an Nikkormat FTN several years ago in Mint+ to Like New shape. At first the meter was a little jumpy but for some reason that has stopped. Not sure why exactly. Just glad it did. Some of the slides that I have gotten back from the lab show some great shots. Maybe it's the CDS cells in that camera. I've got cameras with the SBC cells in them but the FTN slides are better. Can't really explain that. Just know that this camera is truly a classic that I wouldn't want to give up. It's solidly built, you can be sure. Probably make a good weapon if you needed it to be. These cameras were used in the VietNam war quite heavily along with F's. They are worth every penny you pay for them!
7/28/2005 1:28:54 PM
 
Sal 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 12:35:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 12:35:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 12:35:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 12:35:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 12:35:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just started using it. The FTn is a completely mechanical camera except for the center-weighted meter. It's a lot heavier than modern camera. I'll let you know more later
7/27/2004 12:35:05 PM
 
Daniel J. Wilson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 3:53:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 3:53:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 3:53:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 3:53:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 3:53:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Solid and rugged, although on the heavy side. Original light meters suck and old batteries are no longer readily available. Can update to new meter w/ new battery, though. Don't like the placement of film speed setting because it ends up under tripod quick-release plate, forcing you to remove the plate to change film speeds. Other than that, I wouldn't trade mine for anything.
6/17/2004 3:53:08 PM
 
Tim L. Gregor 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 6:06:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 6:06:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 6:06:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 6:06:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 6:06:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my favorite camera I own. Need I say more?
4/2/2004 6:06:54 PM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 5:40:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 5:40:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 5:40:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 5:40:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 5:40:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've been shooting with a Nikon Ftn for years, I've shot many weddings for friends and used it for shooting events with Apple Computers. It has been an excellent camera. I love using it. Since it is all mechanical it will never let you down. I have still have two, even though I have moved on to an F5 with all of the auto focus lenses. I keep one at work to shoot aircraft photo's . The Nikon F's are still available used at reasonable prices. This won't last for ever though. Get your hands on one now!. You won't regret having one for a back up or use when you just want a camera that you can use to give you that perfect effect. Excellent all around manual camera. It was and still is a Professional camera. F's rule!
11/26/2003 5:40:46 PM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:11:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:11:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:11:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:11:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:11:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent 70's camera.
10/6/2003 7:11:40 PM
 
Doug Ensor 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 8:00:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 8:00:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 8:00:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 8:00:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2003 8:00:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Have used it since about 1970 -- first 10 years semi-professionally, subsequently, languidly.

Always enjoy it, and except for the occasionally intermittent meter switch (gotta get it fixed some decade...), never a problem. It keeps the photographer "in the loop" which I always find I appreciate more when I return from shooting an event with a friends new *WonderBox3000." I actually find I'm less distracted by the tweaking (the manual focus, setting aperture/speed, composing, going back and forth as I find a better mix) than I am buy any nember of the auto cameras I have used...a fact to consider for the budding serious photographers.

6/29/2003 8:00:00 PM
 

8 Reviews