PowerShot S80 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

MT~~  Circular Mo...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S80 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Expand your shooting capabilities with optional wide and tele
    conversion lenses, wireless controller , and underwater housing (not
    included--must be purchased separately)
  • 8-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 16 x
    22-inch prints
  • Large high-resolution 2.5-inch LCD screen with wide viewing
    angle; 3.6 optical zoom
  • New UA lens technology for superior image quality
  • 21 shooting modes, including Special Scene modes and My Color
    for customization while shooting

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


16 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jeffrey M. Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/14/2010
Contact Jeffrey
Jeffrey's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Originally got it as a "carry everywhere" so I would never miss those "kodak moments" but I have found it tkes the best macro shots of all my cameras. (even better than my sony a900!) You can practically put the lens on top of the subject and focus is crisp. Its reat for bugs, small frogs really anthing smaller than a dime.
The big drawback is no bulb setting and shutter will stay open no more than 15 seconds, so night/star shots are out unless you have the telescope attachment
12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM
 
Jerry Weisberg 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to Use, great shots, some distortion in portraits.
7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM
 
John W. Bates 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great point-and-shoot.
7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM
 
PercievePhotography - Miranda K. Hester
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Best camera I've ever shot with, every intricate detail of a professional camera, with the ease and size of an above average point-and-shoot.
6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM
 
John Leszczynski 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The S80 is compact, stylish, and effective.
6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM
 
Lorilea Huon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it it is my first digital camera but i loved the fact that is it a compact stylish camera but still had manual controls. so i can take it anywhere n take great pics. Its easy yet allows you to learn as you discover more the camera does. Its got fun controls aswell such as color accent and my colours as well as handy easy point and shoot scenery options. great camera
6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM
 
Julie B. Cohen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I haven't used it for very long, but I like the versatility and the stiching function. It also has A fairly large discplay so you can get a better idea what the pictures will look like. One drawback is that it doesn't have RAW images. It is also a little bigger than the small digital cameras.
4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM
 
Amity G. Chaney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera! I use it mainly to take pictures of my 2 kids, and I get beautiful pictures everytime. It blurs every now and then, but I think that's cameras in general. The prints are EXCELLENT!
4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM
 
Cathy Z. Shelburn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I enjoy both of them
2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM
 
Randall S. Quarles
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/8/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have enjoyed the features this camera has to offer. It takes crip clear images. Compact and easy to use. Great features include the color accent, color swap, stich assist panoramic shooting, and upgradable options such as lenses and flashes. It has 8 mega pixels. The image quality is amazing. I find the camera has some difficulty focusing. Action shots are hard to capture compared to other cameras I have owned. The Func. Set rotating menu is a bit akward. Setting features from here can be tricky if your not careful with yor fingers you'll easily change the settings you input.
2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM
 
Dana R. Andreson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I wanted a small digital I could throw into my pocket to have whenever needed when running around with my 3 kids. This little digital works well it's got a good handle to grip onto and work with one handed. I've blown up pictures taken with it to 18x24 and they look incredible. I can't complain, the best 400 bucks I ever spent!
1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM
 
Lacie Fry
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2004
Contact Lacie
Lacie's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:11:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:11:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:11:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:11:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 11:11:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I wanted a small camera that I could always keep in my purse, backpack, or whatever because I was tired of missing great photos. I wanted one with a good amount of megapixles and had many features. The S80 is great. I just got it and havent used it that much...but so far I love it!
1/11/2006 11:11:43 AM
 
Kelli Breeton-Fairall 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:59:50 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've had my Powershot S80 for a month now. I'm pretty new to digital hotography. So far,I have had no mechanical problems. It's been pretty fun playing around with it so far. Since I'm new at using it, I sometimes go to the wrong menus, but they're pretty intuitive and I've learned to maneuver pretty quickly with very little reference to the manual. 4x6 prints seem very sharp and I haven't tried enlargements yet. I don't use ISO 400 setting if I can avoid it, since there's a lot of noise. I enjoy the video feature and the video quality (frames per second, etc.) is improved from the S70 or G6 models. I chose the S80 because of the wide zoom lens (28-100mm), which is rare in a point-and-shoot. On my film SLR, I mostly use a 28-80mm lens so I wanted something to fit most of my needs. Sometimes I've wished there was more zoom to the S80 but it's not an SLR and you can't expect too much. You can adjust the flash output, turn the flash off entirely, use all manual settings, set the white balance yourself, and adjust the exposure compensation. Canon makes an affordable underwater housing and the U/W settings take the guesswork out of the white balance. The S80 is one of the lowest priced cameras in its class (other comparable prosumer point-and-shoots) and is more compact. I purchased this camera as a supplement to my film photography and to bide my time until I buy a DSLR system and pro glass. The price has already come down on the S80 since I purchased mine a few weeks ago. The Sony DSC-W7 (no custom white balance) or the Fujifilm Finepix
E550 (no U/W housing) are other excellent choices and are a lot less expensive. Problems I encountered with this item: Some bright lights create vertical lines down the image, but I'd avoid aiming the lens at bright lights anyway, especially the sun, which could damage the sensor. So far, my sensor
is working fine. There is some softness in the corners at 28mm (widest zoom.) The smallest aperture beyond 28mm is only f/5.0, unfortunately. You can get pretty close to your subject at 28mm, though, which allows for f/2.8. The battery life is pretty short so have additional charged batteries with
you. It would be preferable if the S80 supported RAW files, took a Compact Flash Card, had a hot shoe, and used AA or other standard batteries.
1/3/2006 6:59:50 AM
 
Kelli Breeton-Fairall 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:56:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:56:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:56:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:56:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 6:56:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've had my Powershot S80 for a month now. I'm pretty new to digital photography. So far,I have had
no mechanical problems. It's been pretty fun playing around
with it so far. Since I'm new at using it, I sometimes go to
the wrong menus, but they're pretty intuitive and I've learned
to maneuver pretty quickly with very little reference to the
manual. 4x6 prints seem very sharp and I haven't tried
enlargements yet. I don't use ISO 400 setting if I can avoid
it, since there's a lot of noise. I enjoy the video feature and
the video quality (frames per second, etc.) is improved from
the S70 or G6 models. I chose the S80 because of the wide
zoom lens (28-100mm), which is rare in a point-and-shoot.
On my film SLR, I mostly use a 28-80mm lens so I wanted
something to fit most of my needs. Sometimes I've wished
there was more zoom to the S80 but it's not an SLR and you
can't expect too much. You can adjust the flash output, turn
the flash off entirely, use all manual settings, set the white
balance yourself, and adjust the exposure compensation.
Canon makes an affordable underwater housing and the U/W
settings take the guesswork out of the white balance. The
S80 is one of the lowest priced cameras in its class (other
comparable prosumer point-and-shoots) and is more
compact. I purchased this camera as a supplement to my
film photography and to bide my time until I buy a DSLR
system and pro glass. The price has already come down on
the S80 since I purchased mine a few weeks ago. The Sony
DSC-W7 (no custom white balance) or the Fujifilm Finepix
E550 (no U/W housing) are other excellent choices and are a
lot less expensive.
Problems I encountered with this item:

Some bright lights create vertical lines down the image, but
I'd avoid aiming the lens at bright lights anyway, especially
the sun, which could damage the sensor. So far, my sensor
is working fine. There is some softness in the corners at
28mm (widest zoom.) The smallest aperture beyond 28mm
is only f/5.0, unfortunately. You can get pretty close to your
subject at 28mm, though, which allows for f/2.8. The battery
life is pretty short so have additional charged batteries with
you. It would be preferable if the S80 supported RAW files,
took a Compact Flash Card, had a hot shoe, and used AA or
other standard batteries.

1/3/2006 6:56:21 AM
 
Eric Stilwell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 3:55:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 3:55:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it!
12/29/2005 3:55:39 PM
 
Lorilea Huon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 4:54:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 4:54:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 4:54:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 4:54:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2005 4:54:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i dodint even know what megapixel meant until I wanted to buy one and im a perfectionist and thought if im going to spend that much money I want to get something good so I researched for a month on the net in stores reading reviews and this was the best camera I could find. I was looking for the convience of a compact camera with the control of a SLR. I am totally happy with the powershot s80 I have taken numerous professional looking photos and I am 100%begginer and I had no problem using this camera even without the booklet but it still has advanced settings to ecperiment and grow.if anything it is too good being an 8megapixel camera it captures every little detail... il have to experiment with makeup and lighting now haha
12/14/2005 4:54:41 AM
 

16 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot S80 Digital Camera from Amazon.com