PowerShot S80 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

MT~~  Circular Mo...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S80 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Expand your shooting capabilities with optional wide and tele
    conversion lenses, wireless controller , and underwater housing (not
    included--must be purchased separately)
  • 8-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 16 x
    22-inch prints
  • Large high-resolution 2.5-inch LCD screen with wide viewing
    angle; 3.6 optical zoom
  • New UA lens technology for superior image quality
  • 21 shooting modes, including Special Scene modes and My Color
    for customization while shooting

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jeffrey M. Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/14/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Originally got it as a "carry everywhere" so I would never miss those "kodak moments" but I have found it tkes the best macro shots of all my cameras. (even better than my sony a900!) You can practically put the lens on top of the subject and focus is crisp. Its reat for bugs, small frogs really anthing smaller than a dime.
The big drawback is no bulb setting and shutter will stay open no more than 15 seconds, so night/star shots are out unless you have the telescope attachment
12/7/2011 10:56:39 AM
 
Jerry Weisberg 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to Use, great shots, some distortion in portraits.
7/3/2006 11:15:20 AM
 
John W. Bates 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great point-and-shoot.
7/2/2006 8:14:27 PM
 
PercievePhotography - Miranda K. Hester
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Best camera I've ever shot with, every intricate detail of a professional camera, with the ease and size of an above average point-and-shoot.
6/25/2006 6:06:33 PM
 
John Leszczynski 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The S80 is compact, stylish, and effective.
6/23/2006 6:12:13 PM
 
Lorilea Huon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it it is my first digital camera but i loved the fact that is it a compact stylish camera but still had manual controls. so i can take it anywhere n take great pics. Its easy yet allows you to learn as you discover more the camera does. Its got fun controls aswell such as color accent and my colours as well as handy easy point and shoot scenery options. great camera
6/8/2006 3:48:04 AM
 
Julie B. Cohen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I haven't used it for very long, but I like the versatility and the stiching function. It also has A fairly large discplay so you can get a better idea what the pictures will look like. One drawback is that it doesn't have RAW images. It is also a little bigger than the small digital cameras.
4/16/2006 7:15:03 PM
 
Amity G. Chaney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera! I use it mainly to take pictures of my 2 kids, and I get beautiful pictures everytime. It blurs every now and then, but I think that's cameras in general. The prints are EXCELLENT!
4/12/2006 5:36:31 PM
 
Cathy Z. Shelburn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I enjoy both of them
2/20/2006 3:09:52 PM
 
Randall S. Quarles
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/8/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have enjoyed the features this camera has to offer. It takes crip clear images. Compact and easy to use. Great features include the color accent, color swap, stich assist panoramic shooting, and upgradable options such as lenses and flashes. It has 8 mega pixels. The image quality is amazing. I find the camera has some difficulty focusing. Action shots are hard to capture compared to other cameras I have owned. The Func. Set rotating menu is a bit akward. Setting features from here can be tricky if your not careful with yor fingers you'll easily change the settings you input.
2/16/2006 1:03:34 AM
 
Dana R. Andreson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I wanted a small digital I could throw into my pocket to have whenever needed when running around with my 3 kids. This little digital works well it's got a good handle to grip onto and work with one handed. I've blown up pictures taken with it to 18x24 and they look incredible. I can't complain, the best 400 bucks I ever spent!
1/30/2006 8:21:16 PM
 

First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy PowerShot S80 Digital Camera from Amazon.com