MX 35mm SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Finding Your Way
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Brian Mahler 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:44:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:44:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:44:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:44:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 4:44:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
small, manual well built
6/3/2006 4:44:36 PM
 
Heather Rosato
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 9:43:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 9:43:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 9:43:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 9:43:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2006 9:43:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first camera EVER. I loved it. It was sturdy and took great photos for a 35mm.
2/3/2006 9:43:24 AM
 
Lloyd A. Skinner 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 6:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 6:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 6:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 6:45:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 6:45:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned and used my MX for over 20 years, it has never failed and always produced awesome results. I am now teaching my children the art and science of photography and the MX will be the heart of the course. It is amazing how inexpensive you can fine this camera on auction web sites.
8/13/2005 6:45:53 AM
 
Pulin Ghosh 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 11:01:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 11:01:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 11:01:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 11:01:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 11:01:47 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this is a very useful camera which has a mechanical shutter and so it can be used for better cretive photography
6/9/2005 11:01:47 AM
 
Bob Phipps 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 2:23:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 2:23:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 2:23:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 2:23:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 2:23:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent tough little manaual camera that was Pentax's reply to the Olympus OM1. It was meant as the professional member of the 'M' series and as such it has a mechanical shutter (works with no battery), a Judas window and a big range of accessories including a fast motor drive Pentax must have lost a fortune on it because soon afterwards the professional world demanded auto/manual cameras and the MX was superceded by the LX, with which it had little in common except the lenses.

In the mid 80's it was as cheap as the manual K1000 to which it was infinitely superior - yet Pentax discontinued the MX and made the K1000 for another 10 years. Sad story! I use one as a second body to my LX.

4/1/2005 2:23:26 PM
 
Richard G. Gardner 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:23:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:23:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:23:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:23:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 8:23:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like this camera because it is solidly built, compact, and takes great pictures with my Pentax SMC M lenses.
9/22/2004 8:23:01 AM
 
Chevue  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 6:26:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 6:26:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 6:26:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 6:26:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 6:26:06 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
this is a great camera. it takes super crisp clear pictures. great for a beginner..such as i.. and works like a dream.
11/15/2003 6:26:06 PM
 

7 Reviews