Lensbaby 2.0 Camera Lens


Lensbabies

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses

The Lensbaby 2.0  Camera Lens

Lensbabies are unique selective focus SLR camera lenses that bring one area of an image into sharp focus, with the sweet spot of focus surrounded by graduated blur.Photographers can move the sharp area anywhere within the photo by bending the lens.

Lensbabies have won American PHOTO Magazine's Editor's Choice Award and Professional Photographer Magazine's Hot 1 Award because they take compelling portrait, botanical,travel, landscape, wedding, fine art, product, fashion and other types of photos.

Lensbabies are available for all digital SLR and 35mm film cameras.


2 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kristine Slipson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 3:55:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 3:55:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 3:55:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 3:55:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 3:55:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I tried it, and WOW it takes some getting used to. A caution to those with weak stomachs- take a Dramamine or Bonine before playing with a Lensbaby! It can be a little dissorienting at first. I found the best way to hold it without a tripod is to grip the camera with your thumbs and index fingers (with one on the shutter obviously), and use your middle, ring, and pinky fingers on each side of the lensbaby to bend it. I have small hands, but I managed!
2/7/2006 3:55:21 PM
 
Tony Sweet
TonySweet.com
Tony's Photo Courses:
2-Week Short Course: A Quick Start to Adding More 'Pop' to Your Images
4-Week Short Course: High Dynamic Range (HDR) Photography
4-Week Short Course: Mastering the Nikon D3 and D700
4-Week Short Course: Nikon D800/D800E: A Quick Start Course!
Fine Art Flower Photography
Image Design: Revealing Your Personal Vision
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:55:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:55:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:55:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:55:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2005 3:55:29 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's not often in this world of everyone trying to be like everyone else that a unique product shows up on the scene. This "baby"' is it, and the great news is that it's very affordable.
The Lensbaby is basically a front element mounted on a slinky! That's not exactly what it is, but the entire element can be bent and turned in almost any fashion to change point of focus and even the amount and location of defocus. This allows the photographer a brand new creative option for around $135. I've got filters that cost more!! The Lensbaby gives you a photoshop effect without the computer time! Pretty cool. I've been messing around with my Lensbaby for a few months and am still really excited about using it.

For those who think that this is not a serious lens, consider that stock agencies love anything different and a 50M file shot with the Lensbaby will be considered as much as an image shot with a very expensive lens.

There's also several attachments that screw into the front of the Lensbaby: wide angle, telephoto, and two close up lenses. I regularly use all of these attachments when called for in the field.

Technique-wise, I hand hold the Lensbaby when shooting wide open because the shutter speed is fast enough to not matter. But, one can also insert f/stop "washers" to create smaller f/stops, giving greater sharpness. As the aperture gets smaller, the shutter speed slows, necessitating the need for a tripod. Actually, using a tripod most of the time will help with the sharpness because it frees both hands to control the lens movement.

So, it's time to stop reading, get your very own Lensbaby, and work on expanding your vision!

Here's the link to my Lensbaby gallery on my Betterphoto Deluxe site:

http://www.tonytsweet.com/-/tonytsweet/gallery.asp?cat=22178

Have fun!!


11/24/2005 3:55:29 AM
 

2 Reviews