BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


FinePix S5200 Digital Camera


Fuji

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Pond Reflections
View photos created with this camera

The FinePix S5200 Digital Camera

Features:

  • Ultra-high light sensitivity (up to ISO 1600), plus special
    "Natural Light" and "Anti-Blur" modes
  • Stores images on xD Picture Cards; powered by 4 AA-size
    batteries (4 AA alkaline batteries included)
  • 5-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 13 x
    17-inch prints
  • 10x optical zoom (equivalent to a 38-380mm on a 35mm camera)
  • 1.8-inch low-temperature polysilicon LCD display

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 36 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Dalton Martin

member since: 10/4/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got this camera as a gift because my old camera had a lousy zoom function. This camera, however, has a very good zoom and, as of yet, has every function that I need. Some things like the EXIF data and the histogram were a little hard to locate but not too bad.
10/18/2010 11:36:16 AM
 
Annie 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/20/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really love this camera. But it took
me quite a while to figure out every button and setting, and at first it was
all very confusing. But once you master all the settings, you can start taking great pictures!
8/3/2007 10:22:57 AM
 
Phil Falson
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Phil
Phil's Gallery

member since: 11/24/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I purchased this camera because I wanted a semi prosumer camera, this camera is it. It is as close to DSLR as you can get . I only wish it had a hot shoe, because the flash is a little weak.Other than that it is a great camera. At a very affordable price.
1/16/2007 3:23:56 AM
 
Travis R. Cole

member since: 10/9/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had the camera about a month and am still learning the rope for the settings. Overall it has made some fantastics pictures. This camera is the best in its price range. I looked at many cameras and read many reviews and this one stood out. This is my second digital camera upgraded from a point and shoot with no zoom so you can imagine I love the 10x zoom. People that have said the pictures turn out grainy are obviously not using the right settings. The first day I took my camera out 99% of my photos were great (one blurry one but that was my fault). Not as good as some of the more expensive SLRs, but buy an SLR if you can afford it and that is what you want.

Overall: Great bang for the buck and have taken pictures that impressed my friend that uses a $1600 SLR

10/10/2006 5:30:07 AM
 
Ariel Lepor
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Actually, this is one of the fastest cameras in its class, in all areas.
8/1/2006 3:07:08 PM
 
Manuel Barrera
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/23/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent camera but it is slow.
7/3/2006 5:19:19 PM
 
Deborah L. P.
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/29/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had my Fuji for about 6 months. It has taken me this long to get to know it. Finally, I am producing the kinds of photos that I set out to! I am not ready for an upgrade to a dSLR, but this Fuji is meeting my needs completely. It has a 10x zoom, full Manual mode, Aperture Priority and Shutter Priority mode. It also has a video with sound mode which is important to me. With full manual control, I can adjust and set White Balance, ISOs up to 1600, Shutter speeds and much more. I have recently learned how to use the Optical Zoom and the Macro mode to their fullest capabilities to allow me better depth of field. I am looking forward to learning more and possibly even buying a wide-angle lens attachment for it. Debb
6/29/2006 11:57:39 AM
 
Beka Cravero
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/28/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've had my camara about 2 months now and love it. I am brand new to photography and wanted a camara that would go from fully automatic to fully manual. The S5200 was the best I found in my price range of under $300.00. The only thing I have found yet that I can't do with it is extreemly close macros.
6/28/2006 5:38:53 PM
 
Jeffrey J. Biskupski
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/26/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I Love this camera. It has all the features that you could want in a srl and is extremely reasonable in price.
6/28/2006 8:22:00 AM
 
Jill M. Jacobus
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/5/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
At times this camera takes absolutley outstanding pictures, and other times it just won't. I am sure it is due to my lack of knowledge along with my limited time to learn all the menus for needed changes in settings. I guess a point and shoot camera is just better for me most of the time. I expected more out of the automatic setting for this camera, but I still have a lot to learn about it. It is a bit heavy with the 4 AA batteries in it, but they last a long time. The flip up flash is great, and the LCD is easy to see. When I work it correctly, the results are fabulous!
6/2/2006 7:32:44 AM
 
M. G. Huckabay

member since: 5/27/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. About the only thing I can find fault in is the size- a necessary evil when a 10x zoom is included, I guess.
5/27/2006 1:57:50 PM
 

First 10 of 36 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy FinePix S5200 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.