Maxxum 9 35mm SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

New Zealand - Wes...
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum 9 35mm SLR Camera

Features:


  • 35mm SLR camera with built-in flash
  • High-speed film drive of up to 5.5 frames per second
  • Very fast 1/12,000-second shutter speed
  • Body only; compatible with all Minolta AF/Maxxum lenses
  • Dust- and moisture-resistant construction

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


17 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Carl D. Garrard 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 1:49:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 1:49:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 1:49:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 1:49:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2011 1:49:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Summary:
Still like film? Have any Minolta lenses? Treat yourself to a Maxxum 9, you won't regret it. You won't get a better full frame experience for the dollar, used or new, than the Maxxum 9.

Comfortable, easy to use, intuitive, ergonomic, reliable, capable, the Maxxum 9 is genius design made practical. Built like no other film camera I've ever held, it's a hefty camera yet confidence inspiring. If a Sherman tank had a camera cousin, the Maxxum 9 would be it.

There isn't much to say but accolades for this camera, it has few if any weaknesses as a film platform and to this day still has features that other SLR's or DSLRS cannot rival (it's sync speed and worlds fastest 1/12,000th shutter speed for example).

This is a camera that will last generations in a family household, and if you believe celluloid is your choice for memories, I can't think of a more perfect camera to do the job. It's just as happy doing sports/action and outdoor photography as it is doing wedding events and family snapshots.

Some cameras have everything right, the Maxxum 9 is one of those. From the moment you pick one up, you'll understand, don't believe me or the words I've written. If you get a chance to hold one, and look through the beautiful viewfinder, maybe you'll agree.

Strengths:
Build (Stainless STEEL, not magnesium)
Beautiful Large Optical Viewfinder
Comfort
Ease of use
Intuitive
Ergonomic
Reliable
Capable
Fast
Metering
Frame rates
Forgiving
Long customizable function list
Weather Resistant
Great battery life
Built in wireless flash/trigger
AF in complete darkness up to 7 meters
Glow in the dark controls
All you need, and nothing you don't.

Weaknesses:
Weight, perhaps
No longer in production
Limited AF points
Limited to camera shops for repair

2/4/2011 1:49:25 AM
 
Abbas Al-khamies 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 5:29:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 5:29:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 5:29:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 5:29:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 5:29:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lovely Camera - huge shetter - Easy use - heavy duty - very great focus
6/16/2006 5:29:08 AM
 
Robt. E. Tracy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:58:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:58:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:58:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:58:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 9:58:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Still learning the operation however shows good promise. Pro..continuous autofocus Con..On bright days the viewfinder is dim hard to read f/stops and exposure
9/13/2005 9:58:32 AM
 
Glen Taylor 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:28:15 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:28:15 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:28:15 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:28:15 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 12:28:15 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Mine worked well, for awhile. The LCD display on my camera then began to 'bleed' or blur at the edges. I took it to an authorized repair center, where I was told this is a fault of Maxxum 9 and the display will eventually go, rendering the camera useless. The cost to replace the LCD didn't justify keeping the camera, so I sold it. Minolta doesn't keep repair parts available for discontinued cameras for very long these days, so it's something to keep in mind.
7/23/2005 12:28:15 PM
 
Protacio Serna
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/26/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:38:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:38:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:38:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:38:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:38:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera. Excelent controls distribution, accurate metering.
3/25/2005 7:38:57 AM
 
Joost Duppen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:12:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:12:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:12:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:12:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:12:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
use it with the BP-9. Makes the camera very, very heavy, but nice to handle. Bought it because my eyes became not so good, and because I use Leica, and Leica and Minolta used to develop lenses together, so the sharpness and Unsharpness of Minolta en Leica are very nice/
3/8/2005 1:12:51 PM
 
Rob Miller 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 12:54:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 12:54:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 12:54:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 12:54:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2005 12:54:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's built like a tank! That's what I love about it. No messing around. It's built to withstand the weather conditions, as well as using in some pretty rugged territory! Heavy? Yes sir! Love it!
1/27/2005 12:54:49 PM
 
Mark L. Peterson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 5:46:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 5:46:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 5:46:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 5:46:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 5:46:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is my "work horse". It provides the features that I look for in a SLR camera, like fast shutter speeds (1/12,000 sec), easy to use controls, and a stable highly water resistant camera body for all weather shooting. Works great in cold weather locations.
12/5/2004 5:46:26 PM
 
Karen L. Murphy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 5:48:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 5:48:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 5:48:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 5:48:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 5:48:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it. I can't wait until they get a digital that's close, but I will always love my Maxxum 9
7/11/2004 5:48:17 PM
 
Frank Ritchie 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 3:12:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 3:12:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 3:12:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 3:12:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 3:12:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best 35 mm. camera I have ever used, very fast and loaded with features.
6/2/2004 3:12:53 PM
 
Tonya Autry 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 11:27:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 11:27:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 11:27:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 11:27:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2004 11:27:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!!
5/20/2004 11:27:13 PM
 
Bob Whorton 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:25:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:25:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:25:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:25:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:25:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best camera in the world IMHO
3/21/2004 7:25:57 PM
 
Roy Cordingley 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 4:53:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 4:53:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 4:53:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 4:53:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 4:53:29 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
THIS IS A VERY HIGH QUALITY 35MM SINGLE LENS REFLEX CAMERA AND ITS FOR THE VERY SERIOUS PHOTOGRAPHER. THE CAMERA IS VERY WELL BALANCED AND HAS LOTS OF NEAT FEATURES. I JUST WISH THERE WAS A WAY TO LOCK THE SETTINGS WHEN YOUR USING APETURE PRIORITY SO YOU DON'T ACCIDENTLY BUMP THE CONTROL WHEEL AND CHANGE THE SETTING WHEN YOUR SHOOTING A SETTING FOR FLASH PHOTOGRAPHY!
3/11/2004 4:53:29 PM
 
Alejandro Parada 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 5:52:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 5:52:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 5:52:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 5:52:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 5:52:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent exposure meter, fast auto focus, solid and heavy
2/29/2004 5:52:39 AM
 
Janet  Kubas 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 7:44:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been very happy with my Minolta Maxxum 9 camera. I have had it for approximately 4 years and have gotten some great pictures using it. I like it for its ease of use. The down side for me is the size. It gets to be a little heavy sometimes...but I like the way it feels in my hand. It feels like a camera! I also like the fact the if you purchase a Minolta flash you can have a wireless remote set up for the flash. It does not have to be on the camera.
8/24/2003 7:44:56 PM
 
Lamont G. Weide
LamontPhotos.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:51:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:51:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:51:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:51:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 8:51:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera. It has easy to use dials. It weighs about the same as the Nikon F-100. I really have no negative comments about this camera.
7/20/2003 8:51:57 AM
 
Victor J. Naklicki 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:37:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:37:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:37:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:37:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 2:37:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera. I got the battery grip which is great when you want to go vertical.
7/4/2003 2:37:17 PM
 

17 Reviews  

Buy Maxxum 9 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com