Maxxum 7000 / 7000i SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Artist Point~Yell...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


80 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Norman J. Rodriguez 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:57:21 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Quite possibly one of the better 35mm SLR cameras I've ever used. Minolta definitely followed the KISS mentality when designing this one. Not to mention the lenses will fit the new digital SLRs.
6/26/2006 5:57:21 PM
 
Holli L. Koso 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 2:21:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 2:21:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 2:21:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 2:21:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 2:21:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Ilike my camera because it has the ability to be automatic or manual and the lense can be short or extended making for awesome close ups.
6/3/2006 2:21:55 PM
 
Bernard Mordorski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/12/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:53:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:53:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:53:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:53:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 8:53:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just like any camera once you get to know it(auto exposure, focus and light meter), it works great. I shot print film Kodak/Fuji which had lots of grain. I thought the auto focus was slow but as I used other auto focus cameras I saw the 7000 was just as fast.
5/25/2006 8:53:24 AM
 
Cheryl Szlachetka
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/24/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 12:31:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 12:31:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 12:31:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 12:31:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 12:31:59 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
overall it's a good camera
5/24/2006 12:31:59 PM
 
Rachell Wilson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 12:46:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 12:46:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 12:46:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 12:46:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 12:46:48 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camera is very easy to use, however it is quite old so therefore it is hard to find additional parts for it. I lost the flash, and I need to find a new one. Then lens cap broke too. I love it, it's my baby.
4/18/2006 12:46:48 PM
 
Steven Paul Dalleske
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/17/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 8:01:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 8:01:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 8:01:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 8:01:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 8:01:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the old work horse. Easy to use and tough as nails. I love it!
3/28/2006 8:01:13 AM
 
Erin E. Murphy 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 11:16:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 11:16:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 11:16:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 11:16:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 11:16:38 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the different lenses I have for the camera. It works very well and isn't too terribly heavy, even with all the equiptment for it together at once.First camera I was allowed to use outside of a small, little grocery store one time use you would get for a kid :) (or a Polaroid.) It was my grandfather's camera that he gave me as a graduation present from highschool and for starting to study photography in techinical school.
3/19/2006 11:16:38 AM
 
Cam Meikle 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 12:42:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 12:42:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 12:42:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 12:42:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 12:42:41 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A little large, but with Good features. Maybe I might have chosen something smaller, lighter, but this worked well for me... I mostly ditched the autofocus and autoexposure in favour of manual adjustment. Got a deal with a whole bunch of lenses and everything all included... It's lasted me many years, and still going strong...
3/14/2006 12:42:41 AM
 
John Ayres 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:45:53 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:45:53 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:45:53 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:45:53 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 8:45:53 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Slow flash sync (1/100), but real problem is slooooooow auto-focus that eats batteries compared to cameras like Maxxum 7. If you think the auto-focus on the 7000/7000i is 'fast', you haven't used a modern camera, things have changed a lot since 1985. The comments about aperture problems on this camera are real, and can't be minimized by taking extra care of the camera - it's caused by old age. If I was buying another camera body this old, I'd skip something with microcomputers and auto-wind, and get a mechanical SLR like the SRT.
2/24/2006 8:45:53 AM
 
Jill  Skaggs
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/10/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 9:42:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 9:42:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 9:42:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 9:42:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 9:42:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bought used off of ebay. I am the third owner of this camera. I really love it. Autofocus is great. Maybe not as good as the new cameras out there but it is a keeper. Would buy another one if this one ever goes bad. Have used it to shoot all kinds of pictures and has not failed me yet. People that complain about this camera, I wonder how they have taken care of theirs. Like any electronic item, you have to treat it as such.
2/5/2006 9:42:50 AM
 
Ginger M. Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:18:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:18:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:18:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:18:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 3:18:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved my Minolta so much that i have traveled with it all the way to Costa Rica and back. The camera is manual and takes great blk and wht photos.
1/13/2006 3:18:22 PM
 
SCR PHOTOGRAPHY 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 1:04:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 1:04:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 1:04:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 1:04:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 1:04:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great camera control over everything
1/3/2006 1:04:56 PM
 
Raneil A. Ibay 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:48:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:48:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:48:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:48:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:48:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just love this camera. This is the first one with autofocus. It also has a built in macro lens, very convenient.
12/7/2005 10:48:45 PM
 
Colleen A. Harriman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 8:07:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 8:07:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 8:07:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 8:07:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 8:07:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I prefer this camera for taking black and white photos and close ups.
11/14/2005 8:07:28 PM
 
Joe  A. Baker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 12:41:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 12:41:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 12:41:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 12:41:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 12:41:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera, I have had nothing but great shots from this camera.
You have to be a bit from the older school of photography....its not as easy to use as the new digital cameras or newer film cameras that are out but over all a very good camera!
11/13/2005 12:41:07 PM
 
Sean Ronters 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:23:28 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:23:28 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:23:28 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:23:28 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 10:23:28 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Folks, the 7000/7000i are very old cameras, they were very exceptional in its day but I see these coming in for repair now all the time. Do not buy these used.

Autofocus cameras and old age do not go well together, the autofocus IC usually dies. Also on the 7000, the aperture stop-down solenoid frequently die, ruining film exposures. Parts and support have not been available from Minolta for years. This means many 7000s can not be repaired anymore even if you want to pay for it.

Sometimes you get lucky and the batteries (regular and coin lithium battery) are out, or corrosion that can be cleaned up, but usually it is something major.

11/12/2005 10:23:28 AM
 
Ken Henry 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:07:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:07:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:07:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:07:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 10:07:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Small, Lightweight, easy operation.
11/5/2005 10:07:37 PM
 
Bradley S. Leeb
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/31/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 6:47:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 6:47:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 6:47:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 6:47:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 6:47:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
One of the first Auto-focus cameras. I bought it in 1986 when I was in eighth grade, and I'm still using it, and loving it!
10/31/2005 6:47:56 AM
 
Nir .b. 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 2:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 2:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 2:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 2:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 2:38:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Exellent Camera!
9/30/2005 2:38:53 PM
 
Will Turner 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 8:38:43 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 8:38:43 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 8:38:43 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 8:38:43 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 8:38:43 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Older Minolta AF camera. This camera s actually worked fairly well for a 1st-gen AF SLR when it came out, Minolta shifted budget to it from its manual focus line (which suffered accordingly).

I wouldn't buy this camera now. Minolta discontinued parts for this model early on and problems are adding up. The lithium backup battery is often dead, which can be replaced. The biggest issues are frequent failure of the aperture stopdown solenoid, circuit board, and film advance mechanism.

9/30/2005 8:38:43 AM
 
Kathy Erickson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 6:51:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 6:51:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 6:51:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 6:51:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 6:51:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have always loved this camera. It takes beautiful shots with the automatic setting. It's a bit old and HEAVY . . . especially with a 300mm lens attached! And when I want to get more creative there's always the manual mode.
9/26/2005 6:51:22 AM
 
Sylvia R. Jackson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:53:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:53:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:53:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:53:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:53:14 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is an older camera that needs to be update. It had a lot of features that I do like. One thing I don't like is you have to write down your aperture and shutter speed, instead of it recording that for you. The best quality about it is you can use the automatic functon or the manual function to focus the cameral. For an older camera. I feel for how much I take pictures, it works fine for me.
8/2/2005 11:53:14 AM
 
Sylvia R. Jackson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:52:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:52:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:52:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:52:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 11:52:42 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is an older camera that needs to be update. It had a lot of features that I do like. One thing I don't like is you have to write down your aperture and shutter speed, instead of it recording that for you. The best quality about it is you can use the automatic functon or the manual function to focus the cameral. For an older camera. I feel for how much I take pictures, it works fine for me.
8/2/2005 11:52:42 AM
 
Kieran Billmann 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 3:29:51 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 3:29:51 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 3:29:51 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 3:29:51 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 3:29:51 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I love it. Takes great pics and is very reliable
7/29/2005 3:29:51 PM
 
Alan D. Bush 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:25:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:25:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:25:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:25:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 9:25:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've owned a Minolta for many years. I've never had a problem with it and it takes excellent photos with my assistance of course!
7/15/2005 9:25:16 PM
 
Claudia Romero 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:02:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:02:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:02:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:02:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:02:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I started out with this old but wonderful camera. Although it doesn't have as many modes and "accesories" as the new cameras, I believe it takes good pictures, keeping it simple and relying on the basic asspects of photography (the little I know, that is)
7/5/2005 9:02:42 AM
 
Jill  Skaggs
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/10/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 6:15:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 6:15:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 6:15:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 6:15:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 6:15:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am a returning newbie to photography and have use a few cameras but not a bunch. This is the best camera by far that I have used. Even though it is an older camera, I am deeply pleased with it.
6/19/2005 6:15:40 PM
 
Robert Castro 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 1:13:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 1:13:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 1:13:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 1:13:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 1:13:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This thing is all that for me although I haven't been into graphic arts that long, this camera does it all or none at all{manual}. So far nothing I don't like.
6/3/2005 1:13:23 AM
 
Rachel Barner 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 6:01:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 6:01:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 6:01:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 6:01:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2005 6:01:08 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Its a great camerai over all, it is heavy and awkward at times.
5/30/2005 6:01:08 PM
 
karyl  dalbey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 11:04:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 11:04:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 11:04:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 11:04:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 11:04:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Minolta camera. It was given to me a by my husbands company and I have found it to take some exceptional photos. I would highly reccomend it. Its dependable and takes the wear and tear I give it from traveling from place to place. I have no complaints, its easy to use which is what I think I like the most about it!
4/28/2005 11:04:51 AM
 
Amanda K. Hammon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:22:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:22:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:22:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:22:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:22:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like my camera being that you have a lot of choices when taking pictures since you are able to be creative with the aperture settings, modes set exclusively for shutter speeds, apertures, manual. I like being able to control depth of field and choosing between auto focus and manual focus.
4/8/2005 5:22:00 PM
 
Matthew A. Baran 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:47:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:47:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:47:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:47:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 5:47:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I know this camera is about 17 years old, but the downside of its bulkiness and weight are made up in the versatility and quality of the photographs that it takes.
4/8/2005 5:47:36 AM
 
Magicc Imagery 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:29:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:29:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:29:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:29:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:29:17 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Not Digital
4/2/2005 12:29:17 PM
 
Tiger Lilly
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 4:21:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 4:21:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 4:21:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 4:21:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 4:21:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I still love using film, especially B&W, and this is the best 35mm camera I've ever had. I don't like that it's big and bulky, but the quality of the pictures is awesome. I use an AF 70-210 lense and have had no problems; I've had the camera since around 1987 or so.
3/28/2005 4:21:56 AM
 
Matt  P. Hockenberry 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 1:30:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 1:30:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 1:30:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 1:30:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 1:30:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I've been using it for 2 years since my dad gave it to me. I was in the military and going overseas. I wanted a camera to take pictures. I had admired it since I was a child. I love all the options, but unfortunately for my dad he had to pay for several cards to do this. The two zoom lenses I have, 28-85 f3.5/4.5 and 100-300 f4.5, are adequate and allow me freedom to take different kinds of pictures. Sometimes they look especially good. But my favorite lens is the 100 f2.8 Macro. It has excellent image quality. I have dropped the camera several times but still works like a charm. The battery life is EXTREME. I can use one for monthes, even leaving the camera on for days. My only real complaint is occasional missed autofocus or incorrect exposure, but everyone or thing gets fooled sometime. Old used camera but I highly recommend it if you get a Minolta lens for it.
3/2/2005 1:30:49 PM
 
John Crews
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 3:09:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 3:09:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 3:09:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 3:09:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 3:09:32 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have used this camera for at least 15 years. The in-camera exposure meter is always dead on. Auto-focus is excellent.
2/3/2005 3:09:32 PM
 
Jocelyn Zame 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:17:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:17:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:17:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:17:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 5:17:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera on Auto with its 50mm lens is great. But I think the 35-135mm lens some how isn't working as well on auto and I find it tends to over expose photos. But I now use the manual functions of apeture and speed for better results. I don't think this is a camera fault but more the lense that is some how not doing its job.
2/1/2005 5:17:15 AM
 
BOB WAGNER 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:50:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:50:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:50:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:50:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:50:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
GREAT FILM CAMERA. NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH IS PERFORMANCE. JUST MINE.
1/29/2005 8:50:27 AM
 
peter milosevic 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 3:18:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 3:18:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 3:18:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 3:18:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2004 3:18:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good AF!
12/5/2004 3:18:59 PM
 
Cara R. Litberg 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:55:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:55:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:55:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:55:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 6:55:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great workhorse camera, purchased used many years ago. The first signs of distress have only just started to show-- LCD leakage, but even with this I can't complain, this camera has taken hell from me, it's been used in the rain, been smeared with mud from a curious horse's nose, and has been knocked into fences. This camera has stood up incredibly well. It's built solid and will take a beating without giving out. Of course, the drawbacks to it are the fact that it is an old camera, with older technology. I've learned to overexpose most of the time because the meter tends to underexpose a stop. Center weighted metering limits flexability. Autofocus is a little slow. But I still have trouble faulting this camera. It may be lacking bells and whistles, but it's tough and great for rough work.
11/30/2004 6:55:15 PM
 
Ryan Torres 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 5:02:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 5:02:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 5:02:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 5:02:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2004 5:02:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera, bought in 1987 and still works great.
11/22/2004 5:02:23 PM
 
Shawnna-Lee Matsen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 6:34:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 6:34:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 6:34:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 6:34:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 6:34:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I recieved this as a gift from my dad who has owned it since I was a child, I have owned this camera for 3 years now an have not had a problem with It picture quality could only be improved with improvment on my half as a photographer.
11/3/2004 6:34:28 PM
 
Holly Hegeman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:25:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:25:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:25:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:25:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 3:25:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Camera is 18 years old and continues to perform flawlessly.
10/14/2004 3:25:45 PM
 
Grant Hillemeyer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 10:22:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 10:22:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 10:22:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 10:22:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2004 10:22:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bought in 86 with a Sigma 30-85mm lens. It's the only SLR I've owened, but I nothing but good things to say about it. Sharp images, easy to use, great focus auto or manual, Durable - it's been dropped a few times
10/11/2004 10:22:07 PM
 
James Welch 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 9:48:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 9:48:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 9:48:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 9:48:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 9:48:19 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It seems as if it has been decades ago that I used this camera. It worked fine for me and my needs.
10/6/2004 9:48:19 AM
 
Jennifer Polk 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 10:28:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 10:28:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 10:28:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 10:28:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 10:28:04 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera was given to me from the collection of a deceased relative. I did not get the instruction manual and had to figure things out on my own. Once you get the basics of what button controls what operation, it's a pretty simple piece of equipment. Slightly heavy and very sturdy. I'd recommend it as a good purchase for anyone considering buying it as a "used" item. Thus far, after three months of solid use, I have not been disappointed with it.
9/4/2004 10:28:04 AM
 
Jeff  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:47:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:47:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:47:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:47:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:47:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I own five SLR's - all Minolta.
XG-A, Maxxum 7000, XP700, 300si, and Maxxum 5000.
While I've taken about one thousand pictures total with the five cameras, approximately 100 pictures were taken with the Maxxum 7000.
Out of the thousand photos, the best two pictures I have yet taken were with the Maxxum 7000 - Indoors, program mode, with existing light.
Bought it used on ebay for $75 shipping included. Looks like it was well used and the film door re-soldered at it's hinge. But this camera is a "tank" and works perfectly. Be sure to get a manual with yours if you buy one.
I'd have to recommend the Maxxum 7000 to any newcomer to photography. With both program mode, and manual mode features you can be creative as you want with this camera. Also, Minolta autofocus lenses are dirt cheap on ebay so you can expand your photo equip kit for very low cost. While the Maxxum has a lithium back-up battery that lasts 5 or ten years, it uses AAA batteries for most functions like film advance, lens focusing/display, and rewinding film: so they are cheap to replace.
Loading film into this camera is super-easy and mistake proof.
I gave the Maxxum 7000 a rating of "9" only because it does not have a built-in flash. In most photographic situations, it is really a "10".

8/15/2004 3:47:40 PM
 
Stacie Jo Enriquez 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:40:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:40:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:40:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:40:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 12:40:15 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I was very happy with my Minolta, had a wide angle/zoom 28-85 and a zoom, 85-205 (not exactly sure, haven't picked it up in a while) A drawback for me was that I had bought the big flash and it was pretty much top-heavy for the camera, good results though, just akward sometimes. Also, once I used the Cannon G5, I got almost the same results with a camera that was more compact and weighed less, much easier to carry around, Also, love to have the pics instantly. Since I have had the digital, I have not used the Minolta, can't let go of it though, for sentimental reasons.
7/8/2004 12:40:15 AM
 
Patrick E. LYONS 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:19:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:19:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:19:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:19:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:19:22 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It works well.
6/23/2004 7:19:22 PM
 
Patrick E. LYONS 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:18:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:18:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:18:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:18:06 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 7:18:06 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is an okay camera it works and has auto focus. I actually had another Minolta camera that was a little better but all in all it works well. I am getting the new Rebel Digital as soon as they start giving them away.
6/23/2004 7:18:06 PM
 
Matthew J. Lydy 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2004 7:34:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2004 7:34:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2004 7:34:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2004 7:34:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2004 7:34:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I have been using it for over 10 years. It is very dependable and takes great images. Its not the most modern camera out there these days but still does a great job! My only complaint with this camera is it seems to have difficulty with "early rewinding" when using Kodak films. It almost appears as though the film is spooled too tight.
5/28/2004 7:34:40 PM
 
Duncan M. Hill 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:07:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:07:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:07:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:07:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 11:07:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My maxxum 7000 has been a wonderful camera.
4/12/2004 11:07:06 AM
 
Jeff Hayden 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:09:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:09:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:09:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:09:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:09:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great overall camera for its age.
3/25/2004 10:09:08 AM
 
Ryan Torres 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:58:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:58:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:58:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:58:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:58:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A great 35mm, almost 20 years old and still going strong.
3/24/2004 11:58:53 PM
 
Shaun C. Merchant 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 1:45:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 1:45:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 1:45:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 1:45:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 1:45:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice film camera
3/24/2004 1:45:41 PM
 
Mahmudun Nabi 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 2:34:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 2:34:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 2:34:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 2:34:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 2:34:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I feel better with this camera,
2/23/2004 2:34:42 AM
 
Stephanie N. 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/9/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 9:23:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 9:23:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 9:23:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 9:23:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 9:23:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was my dad's camera. He knew that I liked taking pictures so he gave it to me. My father used this camera in some weddings of family friends. The mother of the bride stated that my father's photos turned out better than the photographer's. I love this camera.
2/9/2004 9:23:59 AM
 
Sheryl  L. McNeel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:32:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:32:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:32:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:32:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:32:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great quality photos!
2/5/2004 3:32:08 PM
 
Marjorie Y.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 8:15:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 8:15:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 8:15:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 8:15:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 8:15:35 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So far, I love everything about it. Wish it had a built in flash, though.
1/25/2004 8:15:35 AM
 
Tom Snyder 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:55:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:55:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:55:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:55:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:55:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great camera, just the right weight. It takes nice sharp photos with grear results!
1/12/2004 11:55:05 AM
 
Tom Snyder 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:50:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:50:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:50:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:50:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 11:50:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great camera, I have two of them and use different lenses and film speeds in each one.I bought these cameras from EBay for a good price. I don't regret ownong this camera as it takes great pictures with my help!
1/12/2004 11:50:44 AM
 
Walt Moesle 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:19:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:19:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:19:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:19:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:19:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
love it, love it, love it!
1/11/2004 11:19:13 PM
 
Walt Moesle 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:18:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:18:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:18:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:18:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 11:18:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
love it, love it, love it!
1/11/2004 11:18:08 PM
 
Carol Christy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:13:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:13:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:13:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:13:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 1:13:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The only thing lacking on this camera is a depth of field preview.
1/11/2004 1:13:11 PM
 
Judy A. Arena 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 10:27:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 10:27:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 10:27:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 10:27:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 10:27:33 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera was purchased in 1986, the second "all automatic" camera Minolta made. Still good, takes good photos.
1/11/2004 10:27:33 AM
 
Tammy L. Bevins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/10/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:53:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:53:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:53:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:53:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:53:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I acquired it on ebay very inexpensively. I love the lightweight body and the features. It takes great pics. Great for hiking in the woods.
12/30/2003 6:53:37 AM
 
Phil Falson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/24/2002
Contact Phil
Phil's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:06:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:06:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:06:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:06:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 8:06:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first auto focus camera, I paid $125.00 for it on e-bay, minolta has always produced a great reliable product.
12/28/2003 8:06:55 AM
 
Bob Yeager 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:23:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:23:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:23:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:23:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 7:23:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very nice ,easy to use,Takes very nice sharp shots
10/21/2003 7:23:37 PM
 
Kimberly Brown 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 7:43:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 7:43:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 7:43:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 7:43:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/20/2003 7:43:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's old still going strong. It has cards you can use for settings that now come on dials in new models. i use it manually most of the time. I keep it for back up.
10/20/2003 7:43:24 PM
 
Cori Jones 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:41:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:41:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:41:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:41:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:41:58 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very easy to use, however at this level, I'm not familiar with all of the options/attributes.
10/8/2003 3:41:58 PM
 
Cookie Serletic 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2003 5:29:46 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice camera , but older technology, auto focus sometimes soft. Easy to work with.
9/25/2003 5:29:46 AM
 
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 4:41:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 4:41:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 4:41:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 4:41:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 4:41:55 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like so many features of my camera. The ease of use is wonderful for taking fast, close-up shots. There is one thing I don't like, that is the field of view is larger than you see in the view finder. The amount of field of view compared to the view finder varies by the distance of subject, amount of zoom, and lense that is used. This has me learning my camera, and compensating for this factor.
9/9/2003 4:41:55 AM
 
Sam J. Norris 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 7:52:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 7:52:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 7:52:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 7:52:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 7:52:26 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good 35 mm with lots of features. This is the camera that started it all with auto focus years ago. Good camera all around but auto wined uses quite a few batteries.
8/30/2003 7:52:26 AM
 
Ann A. Thompson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 4:38:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 4:38:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 4:38:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 4:38:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2003 4:38:01 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have mainly used the programmed mode and it can be frustrating when it just will not focus. It appeasrs to have a lot of trouble if the subject does not have a large flat surface. Otherwise I am satisfied.
7/20/2003 4:38:01 PM
 
Christopher B. 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 9:08:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 9:08:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 9:08:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 9:08:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 9:08:46 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have enjoyed this camera and have no negatives about it. It is now 15 years old and still does a good job.
7/16/2003 9:08:46 PM
 
Marla Kaufman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 2:38:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 2:38:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 2:38:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 2:38:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 2:38:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera I've had alot of succesful photos with this camera!!
7/15/2003 2:38:04 AM
 
Karen M. Kroll
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/24/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 4:57:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 4:57:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 4:57:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 4:57:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 4:57:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I use this camera now as my primary Black & White camera. It is a good overall camera, has never failed me and I have been using it for many years. If you are looking for a good old fashion used camera with no major bells and whistles that are on newer cameras today, this is an excellent choice.
6/30/2003 4:57:41 AM
 
Marian Armeanu
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 7:38:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 7:38:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 7:38:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 7:38:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 7:38:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
ita a very ok camera ... i need some lenses and a good flash for it till then.... im ok with it
6/27/2003 7:38:37 AM
 
Janice M. Bailey 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 12:35:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 12:35:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 12:35:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 12:35:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 12:35:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good camera. Has met all my needs. Have enjoyed the chips to use and the double exposure feature.
6/22/2003 12:35:55 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:22:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:22:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:22:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:22:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 5:22:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned this camera for over 15 years. Over the years I have tried various cameras but always come back to it. I truly love this camera. It is easy to use, it can be used on automatic or manually. Although it is a little heavier than the newer cameras I am sticking with my Maxuum 7000.
6/17/2003 5:22:19 PM
 

80 Reviews