BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Maxxum 7000 / 7000i SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Artist Point~Yell...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 80 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Norman J. Rodriguez

member since: 6/26/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Quite possibly one of the better 35mm SLR cameras I've ever used. Minolta definitely followed the KISS mentality when designing this one. Not to mention the lenses will fit the new digital SLRs.
6/26/2006 5:57:21 PM
 
Holli L. Koso

member since: 6/3/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Ilike my camera because it has the ability to be automatic or manual and the lense can be short or extended making for awesome close ups.
6/3/2006 2:21:55 PM
 
Bernard Mordorski
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/12/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just like any camera once you get to know it(auto exposure, focus and light meter), it works great. I shot print film Kodak/Fuji which had lots of grain. I thought the auto focus was slow but as I used other auto focus cameras I saw the 7000 was just as fast.
5/25/2006 8:53:24 AM
 
Cheryl Szlachetka
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/24/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
overall it's a good camera
5/24/2006 12:31:59 PM
 
Rachell Wilson

member since: 4/18/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camera is very easy to use, however it is quite old so therefore it is hard to find additional parts for it. I lost the flash, and I need to find a new one. Then lens cap broke too. I love it, it's my baby.
4/18/2006 12:46:48 PM
 
Steven Paul Dalleske
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/17/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the old work horse. Easy to use and tough as nails. I love it!
3/28/2006 8:01:13 AM
 
Erin E. Murphy

member since: 3/19/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the different lenses I have for the camera. It works very well and isn't too terribly heavy, even with all the equiptment for it together at once.First camera I was allowed to use outside of a small, little grocery store one time use you would get for a kid :) (or a Polaroid.) It was my grandfather's camera that he gave me as a graduation present from highschool and for starting to study photography in techinical school.
3/19/2006 11:16:38 AM
 
Cam Meikle

member since: 3/13/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A little large, but with Good features. Maybe I might have chosen something smaller, lighter, but this worked well for me... I mostly ditched the autofocus and autoexposure in favour of manual adjustment. Got a deal with a whole bunch of lenses and everything all included... It's lasted me many years, and still going strong...
3/14/2006 12:42:41 AM
 
John Ayres

member since: 1/27/2006
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Slow flash sync (1/100), but real problem is slooooooow auto-focus that eats batteries compared to cameras like Maxxum 7. If you think the auto-focus on the 7000/7000i is 'fast', you haven't used a modern camera, things have changed a lot since 1985. The comments about aperture problems on this camera are real, and can't be minimized by taking extra care of the camera - it's caused by old age. If I was buying another camera body this old, I'd skip something with microcomputers and auto-wind, and get a mechanical SLR like the SRT.
2/24/2006 8:45:53 AM
 
Jill  Skaggs
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/10/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bought used off of ebay. I am the third owner of this camera. I really love it. Autofocus is great. Maybe not as good as the new cameras out there but it is a keeper. Would buy another one if this one ever goes bad. Have used it to shoot all kinds of pictures and has not failed me yet. People that complain about this camera, I wonder how they have taken care of theirs. Like any electronic item, you have to treat it as such.
2/5/2006 9:42:50 AM
 
Ginger M. Anderson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/10/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I loved my Minolta so much that i have traveled with it all the way to Costa Rica and back. The camera is manual and takes great blk and wht photos.
1/13/2006 3:18:22 PM
 

First 10 of 80 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.