Evolt E500 Digital SLR Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Design In Rock
View photos created with this camera

The Evolt E500 Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Powered by one lithium-ion battery; stores images on CF, Micro
    Drive, or xD Picture Cards
  • 8-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 16 x
    22-inch prints
  • 2.5-inch HyperCrystal LCD display; 5 metering modes and built-in
    filters, including nine filters for black-and-white photography
  • Exclusive dust-free technology for spot-free photos
  • Lightweight ergonomic design; kit includes one 14-45mm f3.5-5.6
    and one 40-150mm f3.5-4.5 Zuiko lens

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 111 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Edward A. Gaudette 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 7:43:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 7:43:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 7:43:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 7:43:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2008 7:43:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i have owned the e-500 for about 6 months,first dslr and probably my last
functions user control is just shy of pro camera's at a tenth the cost .my only hope is that some of the lenses I would like to see made for my camera are released and I can afford.
olympus is a great camera.
6/24/2008 7:43:43 AM
 
Gary H. Percival 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2007 11:14:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2007 11:14:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2007 11:14:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2007 11:14:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2007 11:14:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! This is my first venture into DSLR cameras and I think it was a good choice. There are a great deal of features, most of which I haven't even used yet, but it is very easy to use. I am still learning to train my eye to see how a photo should be taken (ie-settings other than auto, which turns out does not mean perfect), but now that now that I am getting the hang of it, I find myself being able to quickly navigate the "hot buttons" for quick white balance and focus adjustments. 8megs is plenty for whatmost people need, too. My wife scrapbooks and we like to share photos online. No real need to blow pics up to billboard sizes. I also got the package w/ two lenses, a 14-45mm and a 40-150mm. Both have already seen lots of use. The only reason I can't give this camera a "5" is the fact that I can only buy Zuiko lenses. I have had no problem with the lenses Zuiko produces, but it would be nice to have a few more choices.
11/13/2007 11:14:17 AM
 
Libba S. Blue 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 7:19:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 7:19:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 7:19:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 7:19:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 7:19:52 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera!
9/11/2007 7:19:52 AM
 
Will Livingston
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/27/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 9:01:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 9:01:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 9:01:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 9:01:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 9:01:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The finest of my cameras. The color and contrast options are fantastic. I enjoy the different shooting modes and primarily shoot 'Children' due to the fast-action shots I normally take. I add filters purchased at Ritz stores. The one downside to this camera is the exclusive lens deal with Zuiko.
8/3/2007 9:01:51 AM
 
Bobbi  S. Tomes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/27/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2007 9:56:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2007 9:56:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2007 9:56:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2007 9:56:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2007 9:56:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my e500, ot a great price on it. It's features closely compare with many other much more expensive DSLR's. My beef with it, like some others, is that the lenses are expensive, not great in low light, and to add one I didnt yet see mentioned, there is no live view, so you cannot use the lcd as a viewfinder and it is uncomfortible to have to put your face up against the camera to look through the viewfinder.
But over all, the photo's are great, and it is well worth the money.
7/4/2007 9:56:59 PM
 
Aly C. Ramirez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/27/2007
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 10:05:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 10:05:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 10:05:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 10:05:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2007 10:05:19 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
this camera is a great camera! It's a great package cuz it comes at a really cheap price for 2 great lens! The only problem is the detail and the focus. It's doesn't always take the clearest pictures, and if the lights not perfect, then it's really moody. It's good. But I have worked with other cameras, such as nikons and canons, and I hope to move on to bigger and better. But this is definetly still a great camera to work with, and the pictures are amazing.

-*-aly-*-

3/2/2007 10:05:19 AM
 
Evan P. Coleman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2007 11:27:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2007 11:27:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2007 11:27:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2007 11:27:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2007 11:27:04 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am not a Pro Photographer, however, I have been able to take some very "pro" looking shots with this camera. From Costa Rica to Greece, and all over Chicago, I have taken some great...and not so great photos. The not so great photos were my fault, not the camera! 8mp with 2 lens's for under 800 is an amazing value. Ton's of great features that are better suited for the people just under Professional.
1/3/2007 11:27:04 AM
 
Randy L. Quast
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/6/2006
Contact Randy
Randy's Gallery
randy-quast-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 6:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 6:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 6:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 6:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2006 6:59:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Evolt E500 is the best camera I have ever used. The picture quality is great and the price of the camera and lens package cant be beat. The camera feels stronger and more balanced than eather the canon or nikon.
12/3/2006 6:59:20 PM
 
Cosmin Somesan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 8:28:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 8:28:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 8:28:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 8:28:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2006 8:28:41 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A very good camera,friendly and easy to use,the only problem is that you can't find lenses at a low cost(like Sigma-wich works great for a reasonable price).Olympus lenses are very good but for my possibilities are expensive.I am waiting for Sigma to give us more lenses for my camera.I am very pleased to own an Olympus E500.All my friends are also very pleased with my photos I shoot.I can't rate this camera with the best because I haven't got any other digital SLR cameras to test.But for me is enough .It has a lot of possibilities and to try them all you'll need a lot of time.Try it.Cosmin S.
9/15/2006 8:28:41 AM
 
Anthony Carmichael
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/19/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2006 7:48:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2006 7:48:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2006 7:48:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2006 7:48:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2006 7:48:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I picked up my E500 in april
simply put this tis the best camera value at the price

not to mention the great rebate and support from olympus

7/23/2006 7:48:06 AM
 
Wendy Dooley 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2006 6:35:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2006 6:35:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2006 6:35:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2006 6:35:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2006 6:35:31 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had the camera for about 6months and love it. I brought it after I had already had the Pentax ist and would trade anyone for another E500. It is very easy to use for anyone. Would like it to be better at focusing in low little. But again I love it. The photographs are amazing. I will be buying another one soon for a partner in a very small photography business. I have heard from several customers that the photographs are just so clear. I agree and would not trade it for a Nikon or Canon.
7/21/2006 6:35:31 AM
 

First 10 of 111 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Evolt E500 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com