BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Maxxum 400si SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Pronghorn Antelop...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


31 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kari Nisbet
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/5/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I'd need a new camera ... but I love my super wide angle lens.
4/7/2006 8:17:40 PM
 
TEDDY LAU

member since: 2/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like my SLR!
2/26/2006 11:13:27 AM
 
Cathy Guevara

member since: 1/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to use camera with a lot of great features.
1/25/2006 10:34:38 AM
 
Sean Ronters

member since: 11/12/2005
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
Cheaper consumer 35mm SLR with plastic lens mount. This and other cheaper AF Minoltas of this era suffer from frequent breakdown of the aperture control unit. It can be fixed but can break again. Not recommended as a used camera.
12/12/2005 1:00:32 PM
 
B Sue Worsham

member since: 9/21/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It has done everything I needed for a reg. camera.
9/21/2005 2:48:56 PM
 
Ben Fischinger

member since: 8/30/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I think this camera is a great begginers camera because it is a couple years old and isn't that expesive. I have to get a ne lens for it because my best lens now has a foususing problem.
8/30/2005 4:03:24 PM
 
Stephanni A. Taylor

member since: 4/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Haven't had this Maxxum too long yet, but so far so good.
7/1/2005 7:16:06 AM
 
Malcolm H. Dsouza

member since: 5/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
its a very good camera with user friendly features and easy to use for a beginner
5/5/2005 9:42:17 PM
 
Erin K. Walden
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/9/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is fine for a beginner with the most basic lense, but add any other type of lense and the autofocus goes to pieces. It takes forever deciding something is actually in focus. Maddening for someone with limited time and energy.
4/9/2005 8:36:06 AM
 
N. Airazell Riedlinger

member since: 4/18/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Only recently recieved this camera from garage sale only $20. Useing first roll of film right now. Any comments or suggestion? Please feel free to contact me airazellsportraits4u@zoomshare.com new email address
3/21/2005 10:53:29 AM
 
Thomas M. Vasas

member since: 2/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Takes the best film pictures. My favorite camera even up today.
2/15/2005 10:14:55 PM
 
Edward L. Robinson

member since: 1/7/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the versatility of this camera. I can set it to fully automatic, or turn off all functions and operate it manually. I would prefer that the auto zoom work more quickly, especially in low-light situations. It works well for my recreational use, and I plan to keep using this camera for the foreseeable future.
1/7/2005 12:33:02 PM
 
bill hampton

member since: 12/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like my camera.
12/13/2004 9:50:37 PM
 
Caroline Meyer

member since: 11/7/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I've had this camera for a while and it's done a good job. It doesn't have zoom lens like the newer cameras have, but that just allows you to be more creative with it. I tried using the fill flash a few times to fill in shadows and it did not work, that is the only thing I do not like about this camera.
11/7/2004 4:57:12 PM
 
Kathryn Love
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera
9/5/2004 9:02:21 PM
 


member since: 6/10/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Inexpensive / easy to use/ Had to have repaired after 0nly 20-30 rolls of film.
7/2/2004 9:24:16 PM
 
Kathryn Love
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good
6/9/2004 10:46:25 AM
 
PAT STEPHENS

member since: 10/6/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am perfectly satisfied with this camera. I bought it because it was a minolta. I have always had minolta cameras. I have taken thousands of pictures with this camera over the past seven years. I recieve compliments all the time from friends and family about the quality of pictures that I take. I have never had a photography class. Actually, I am a registered nurse. I happen to have five children and a beautiful grandson that I love to show off to my coworkers.My minolta camera has done more for me than I expected. I frequently have people ask me what kind of camera I have. I just say" it's a minolta".
5/28/2004 4:29:52 PM
 
Judith A. Pilcher
Contact Judith
Judith's Gallery

member since: 5/18/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The camera is okay, and I enjoy using it; but it is the SIGMA 70-300mm lens that makes the difference.
5/18/2004 9:31:43 AM
 
Judith A. Pilcher
Contact Judith
Judith's Gallery

member since: 5/18/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The camers is okay, and I enjoy using it; but it is the SIGMA 70-300mm lens that makes the difference.
5/18/2004 9:29:45 AM
 
Sharmain Henry

member since: 9/16/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have used this camera for about six or seven years now and I am very pleased with it from all aspects. The camera was very easy for me to use when I initially began photographing. Now it has grown with my experience. I would highly recommend this camera to a beginner.
3/4/2004 4:04:28 PM
 
Randy Cabell

member since: 1/21/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The auto-focus feature on this camera is unpredictable. Other than that it ia a versatile and fine tool.
1/21/2004 5:41:39 PM
 
Peggy Rice

member since: 1/20/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera was a gift from my husband about 6 years ago. I am still experimenting with it but I am finding it very easy to work with.
1/20/2004 12:15:22 PM
 
Ryan Torres

member since: 12/4/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great SLR its over 10 years old and still going strong.
1/8/2004 11:23:24 PM
 
Erika D. Simmons

member since: 12/4/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is my first real camera, and I am pretty pleased with it. It is definately a starter camera.
12/4/2003 12:54:02 PM
 
Erika D. Simmons

member since: 12/4/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is my first real camera, and I am pretty pleased with it. It is definately a starter camera.
12/4/2003 12:53:43 PM
 
Erika D. Simmons

member since: 12/4/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is my first real camera, and I am pretty pleased with it. It is definately a starter camera.
12/4/2003 12:53:26 PM
 
Matt A. Oss

member since: 10/27/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
good starter camera, easy to use both auto and manuel
10/27/2003 9:04:03 PM
 
Nami Sakamoto

member since: 9/20/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
it's not the best but i like it because i'm so used to it.
9/20/2003 10:41:01 PM
 
Thomas Mose Thomsen

member since: 8/29/2003
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I'm quit happy whith this camera. It's light weight easy and quick to use. The AF isn't the best, and it isn't the best camera for artistic fotos
8/29/2003 4:23:47 PM
 
Chris Minter

member since: 8/8/2003
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
this was the worst camera I have ever had - it would not only not load film correctly, but the exposure metering system is bad
8/8/2003 9:38:21 AM
 

31 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.