Mavica FD-91 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Cold Geese
View photos created with this camera

The Mavica FD-91 Digital Camera

The Sony Mavica MVC-FD91 Digital Camera offers XGA quality, 1024 X 768 Resolution, MPEG Video Recording/Playback, and a 14X Optical Zoom Lens. It includes an Infolithium Rechargeable Battery. Plus, it uses standard 3.5" high-density floppy disks to capture and store images.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Gregory Fedders
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/23/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:25:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:25:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:25:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:25:19 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 7:25:19 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Did a good job.
4/4/2006 7:25:19 AM
 
Sarah A. St. John 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:38:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:38:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:38:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:38:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 3:38:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was our first digital camera, purchased in 1996. Takes great shots, but files are saved on floppies (which hold very few images in "fine" setting) - which was high-tech at the time. It was one of the first to have "steady shot" which was one of the best inventions ever. Have since added newer Sony digital camera to our collection, but still use this one too.
2/15/2006 3:38:16 PM
 
Victoria Gonzalez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 10:32:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 10:32:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 10:32:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 10:32:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 10:32:31 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love it when i first got several years ago. it was the best. but it was slow at recording pics on to the floppy disk. And it's not good for low light. it takes great pictures though. I gave it to my sister and she enjoys it.
2/4/2006 10:32:31 PM
 
James M. Gilmore 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 9:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 9:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 9:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 9:07:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2005 9:07:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. The 14X optical zoom is simply amazing. I also have a wide angle lens and a polorazing filter that I often use. Both optional lenses are 52mm screw on. They are so easy to attatch. The most important feature that I depend upon is the amazing way this camera does macro focus on my award winning rose pictures. I have bought newer and better cameras and theny just don't measure up. I do up to 1 mega pixel photos with this camera. They blow up quite nice even to 8 x 10 inches.
8/8/2005 9:07:58 AM
 
Melanie Albarado 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 5:19:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 5:19:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 5:19:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 5:19:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 5:19:01 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like my camera, it is old but I like the fact that it uses a floppy disk.
7/15/2005 5:19:01 AM
 
Peter J. Goodin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/23/2005
Contact Peter
Peter's Gallery
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 3:37:28 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 3:37:28 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 3:37:28 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 3:37:28 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 3:37:28 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
1st Digital Camera, worked great, took ok Pics for the time, Disk not a reliable source of storage.
6/26/2005 3:37:28 PM
 
Kevin L. Johnson 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 4:42:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 4:42:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 4:42:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 4:42:56 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 4:42:56 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
it was o.k. for the time ,has the best zoom for its time .
6/19/2005 4:42:56 PM
 
Doris Bishop 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 5:31:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 5:31:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 5:31:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 5:31:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 5:31:25 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
One of the earlier, way to expensive digital cameras around a grand, but simple to use. The best feature is the ability to utilize standard computer disks. The 14x optical zoom feature is great It's a work horse!
5/10/2005 5:31:25 AM
 
Eric Soren Wormsley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 4:51:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 4:51:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 4:51:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 4:51:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 4:51:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I paid $1000 for this thing way back when and used it for years. It took nice 1.3 Mpixel pics (state of the art back then) but the aperature settings didn't always want to work and the 3.5 disks wore out somehow with it.
1/18/2005 4:51:07 PM
 
Autumn Corey 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 7:00:05 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 7:00:05 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 7:00:05 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 7:00:05 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2005 7:00:05 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Again, this is a camera my mother in law gave me. I don't get very good quality photos with this very often. And I suppose it is because of the mega pixels.
1/9/2005 7:00:05 AM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:18:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:18:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:18:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:18:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:18:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first Digital Camera a sub megapixel Camera with a 14X Optical lens I still have it and still use it.
9/13/2004 8:18:16 PM
 

First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)