EasyShare P850 Digital Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras


View photos created with this camera

The EasyShare P850 Digital Camera

  • Includes high-resolution electronic viewfinder and hot shoe
    flash connector (built-in flash also included)
  • Powered by Lithium-ion battery (battery and charger included)
  • 5-megapixel digital camera captures enough detail for
    photo-quality 13 x 17-inch prints
  • Amazing image-stabilized 12x optical zoom; 2.5-inch LCD display
  • On-camera video editing, including trim, cut, split, merge,
    rewind, and fast forward

  • © Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    32 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 4 out of 5

    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Minor Arias
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/2/2007
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 6:52:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 6:52:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 6:52:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 6:52:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2007 6:52:40 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago and I must say that so far I have just one thing to "complaint" and it is that sometimes depending on the configuration you used to shoot, it takes too long to be ready for the next shot but aside of that, there's nothing else I can complaint about it. Certainly it is not a DSLR but it gets pretty close to it. Camera has the possibility of using it in manual mode which is really cool and also let you take pics in RAW mode.
    I'm absolutely happy about it and in my case it was a great change from my previous Kodak CX7530. I absolutely recommend it.
    6/14/2007 6:52:40 PM
     
    Craig A. Batten 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 6:19:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 6:19:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 6:19:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 6:19:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2006 6:19:20 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Upgraded from DX6490. An improvement in many areas including low-light photography. Love easy access to controls, image stabilisation, file formats, histogram. Only annoyance is the common compact problem of shutter lag. Definately fills a gap between compact point'n'shoots and digi SLRs. Plenty of creative control available.
    10/5/2006 6:19:20 PM
     
    Brenden Palmer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 7:33:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 7:33:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 7:33:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 7:33:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2006 7:33:00 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I bought this camera and I am very pleased! You can add many accessories for it including a TCON which I recently bought! I love the 12X Optical Image Stabalization, so you can take long distance shots with no tripod.

    Overall, a great camera, very close to a DSLR, which is very good!

    8/22/2006 7:33:00 PM
     
    Kimberlee K. Heinsohn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:53:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:53:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:53:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:53:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 12:53:57 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Very close to a DSLR.
    7/4/2006 12:53:57 PM
     
    Kate L. McCrea 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 7:06:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 7:06:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 7:06:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 7:06:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 7:06:03 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I love the image stabilization feature of this camera, especially since my hands are a bit shaky. The pictures come out nice and clear and the colors are clean and sharp. It is a very easy camerea to use for someone who is upgrading from one camera to the next. I would not necessarily suggest it t anyone who has NEVER used digital beofre. The are a few more bells and whistles than my old Kodak (DX6490) and a little bit more to learn.
    6/25/2006 7:06:03 AM
     
    Karen Mellott
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/2/2006
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 9:29:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 9:29:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 9:29:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 9:29:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 9:29:35 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I love it! Read a bunch of complaints while researching this camera....none of them seem to be an issue for me. Quite frankly I feel most people that have trouble with the P850 probably have not read their manual and will have trouble with any camera they get becasue they do not take the time to learn fully about their camera! The P850 is a great camera...fits my hand nice and I can use all the buttons with out having to stop and look at the camera. I love the 12x zoom,it shoots RAW, has many features of dSLR and you can get a telephoto lens and side angle lens and more. I can't say at this time that there is anything I don't like. The P850 gives alot of bang for the bucks!
    6/23/2006 9:29:35 PM
     
    Brandon Hensley
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/23/2006
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 11:34:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 11:34:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 11:34:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 11:34:38 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 11:34:38 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Overall good beginner camera. Has some difficulties in low light
    6/23/2006 11:34:38 AM
     
    Danelle C. Platt
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/22/2006
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:36:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:36:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:36:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:36:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 6:36:46 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I just got this camera a few months ago. So far it's worked well. I even left it out in the rain after taking pictures of the kids in the pool and it still works wonderfully. I'm still learning how to use all of it's functions. This being my first digital Kodak camera, the programming is a bit unconventional, but once I get used to it I'm sure I'll be fine. However, I made sure I bought a camera bag that the manual will fit in.
    6/22/2006 6:36:46 AM
     
    Keilan Scholten 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 11:54:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 11:54:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 11:54:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 11:54:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 11:54:41 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I find the Kodak P850 to be an excellent camera. It is my first and only camera and I have been very impressed so far. The 5.0MP resolution takes great shots and the 12 times optical zoom allows me to get great close ups.
    6/19/2006 11:54:41 AM
     
    Ryan J. English 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 9:34:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 9:34:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 9:34:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 9:34:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 9:34:55 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Great camera for those who don't want to spend the money on a SLR.
    5/18/2006 9:34:55 AM
     
    Patsy T. Epperson
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/22/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 1:24:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 1:24:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 1:24:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 1:24:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 1:24:52 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I enjoy the easy choice of various photo styles such as sunset or sport, etc. I had the Kodak DX 6440 and really liked it but this one, P850, has a 12 zoom (the DX had 10) and I take a lot of wildlife photos. I haven't been quite as satisfied with this one, however, as I seem to have more blurred photos even though the P850 has stabilization.
    4/22/2006 1:24:52 PM
     
    Jennie A. Dillman
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/8/2005
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 8:12:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 8:12:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 8:12:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 8:12:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 8:12:59 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Haven't had it long enough to like or dislike any certain things.. But, it is going to be fun finding out...
    4/20/2006 8:12:59 AM
     
    James H. Murdock 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 1:50:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 1:50:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 1:50:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 1:50:26 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 1:50:26 PM
    Rating: 2 out of 5
    Does not gather light well
    4/12/2006 1:50:26 PM
     
    Andrea Lea Colose 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:53:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:53:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:53:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:53:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:53:40 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    i love the 12x optical zoom. i is so simple to work.
    4/9/2006 10:53:40 PM
     
    Mary C. Mahabee-betts 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:41:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:41:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:41:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:41:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:41:39 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    great pictures time after time and easy to operate
    4/3/2006 11:41:39 AM
     
    Barbara Kehoe
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2004
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:09:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:09:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:09:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:09:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:09:47 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I love the 12x zoom, image stabilization, and convenient size.
    3/29/2006 7:09:47 AM
     
    Jeanne Varco 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 1:43:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 1:43:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 1:43:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 1:43:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 1:43:13 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I love the camera. It's very accessable and easy to work.
    3/8/2006 1:43:13 PM
     
    Guy Miera
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/5/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 7:48:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 7:48:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 7:48:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 7:48:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2006 7:48:52 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I have only recently taken up photography (02/2006), so I cannot give a very informed description, except to say that I'm getting to know how to work a digital camera because of the user friendly P850 camera by Kodak. I'll update this at a later time when I have something to compare this camera with.
    3/5/2006 7:48:52 PM
     
    Michelle  M. Wischmeyer
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/4/2006
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:31:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:31:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:31:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:31:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2006 5:31:36 AM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    This is my first digital camera. There are several things I like about ths camera, it is compact with features within fingers reach allowing me to shot using one hand. It has a 12X optical zoom with a continuous zoom of 3.3X with image stabilizer. The ability to change from JPEG to RAW or TIFF. This camera has automatic settings as well as manual settings. The one thing I don't like is the lapse of time between taking pictures. The camera a lapse that causes missing the chanch to capure images that are moving .....
    2/26/2006 5:31:36 AM
     
    Jane A. Myers
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2005
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:21:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:21:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:21:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:21:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:21:19 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Just got the camera yesterday so far I love how it handles. I love the illumination of a fairly dark room the flash takes care of problems I had taking pictures inside at night.
    2/20/2006 12:21:19 PM
     
    Jorge Velez-Juarbe 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    It is very user friendly.
    2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM
     
    Jorge Velez-Juarbe 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    It is very user friendly.
    2/13/2006 11:34:06 AM
     
    Sondra Macdonald 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 5:55:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 5:55:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 5:55:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 5:55:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 5:55:30 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    The Kodak P850 is a very nice camera. The 12x zoom allows for many shots that are in the distant.
    2/13/2006 5:55:30 AM
     
    Tina G. Burritt
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/6/2006
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 4:19:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 4:19:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 4:19:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 4:19:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2006 4:19:38 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I love my camera. It is not a real fancy camera but it does what I want it to do. It is perfect for me.
    2/6/2006 4:19:38 PM
     
    Alice Newman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:58:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:58:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:58:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:58:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:58:25 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is a great camera for special shots, such as vacation pictures, etc. It's range is 36-432mm. It is a 5mp camera, has an image stabilizer, and an EVF.
    1/23/2006 11:58:25 AM
     
    Alice Newman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:54:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:54:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:54:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:54:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 11:54:37 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is a very 5mp versatile camera. It range is from 36-432mp, and it has an image stabilizer, and EVF. It is a very good camera to use for special shots.
    1/23/2006 11:54:37 AM
     
    Donnie C. Congdon Jr 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 6:34:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 6:34:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 6:34:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 6:34:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2006 6:34:03 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    So far I like how well rounded the camera is. I just got the camera, so I have not realy found anything I don't like about the camera
    1/18/2006 6:34:03 PM
     
    Tracy L. Aaron 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:42:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:42:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:42:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:42:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 10:42:12 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    The Kodak P850 is a fantastic camera with a wealth of tools at your disposal.
    1/14/2006 10:42:12 PM
     
    Kayla W 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:04:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:04:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:04:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:04:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:04:08 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I love this camera and for my level it is great!!
    12/30/2005 8:04:08 AM
     
    Maggie C. Smith 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 3:38:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 3:38:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 3:38:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 3:38:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 3:38:08 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I don't like that I can't change lenses. I do like the quality of the pictures.
    11/9/2005 3:38:08 PM
     
    J. C.
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:25:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:25:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:25:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:25:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:25:30 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This camera is amazing. The macro mode takes unbelievable pictures, and the ability to add additional lenses and flash is GREAT. :) All of the presets are really good too, and the red-eye tool actually works!
    11/3/2005 8:25:30 AM
     
    Chris Ebben
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/9/2004
    Contact Chris
    Chris's Gallery
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 11:29:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 11:29:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 11:29:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 11:29:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 11:29:17 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I like the longlife Li-ion battery,I particularly like the ease of charging the battery on the dock. When you have selected a mode, it shows the description of that mode on the LCD screen. The 12x optical zoom is so good for when you just can't get close enough. The movie mode has 2 settings & gives a very clear picture when played back. The thing I like best about this camera is the Image Stabilizer, it's just what I have been waiting for. I would recommend the camera to anyone for it's ease of use. In saying this, I have to say my Ricoh G3 still has the best Macro I have seen out of many different brand digital cameras owned by friends.
    10/16/2005 11:29:17 PM
     

    32 Reviews  

    Buy EasyShare P850 Digital Camera from Amazon.com