M6 Camera


Leica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Classic 35mm Cameras

Many Dimensions
View photos created with this camera

Features:


  • Manual Rangefinder Focus - You're in full control. By aligning
    lines in the viewfinder you can achieve the optimal focus range
  • Body Only. Lens is not included
  • Accepts a variety of Leica M-Series Lrnses
  • Extremely quiet shutter release facilitates unobtrusive
    photography in sensitive situations
  • Exact exposure metering

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 14 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Daniel M. Kays 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:35:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:35:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:35:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:35:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 4:35:46 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently inherited my father-in-law's Leica M3. He let me look at it once, but never let me touch it before he passed away. I was welcome to use any other camera he owned. But he made payments on it shortly after he was married, every week, until it was his. It was his dream camera, and I am honored and awed that he left it to me. It is a 1957 vintage, with original box, manual, and a fairly complete set of accessories including the light meter, and two lenses, several filters and the original manual. It is a collector's dream camera. I will use it for special occasions where I can control what happen to it. Otherwise, It will stay safely put away. I may let my sons look at it but not touch. So far I have shot two rolls of film through it. The photographs were very sharp. Thank you Pappy. I will love it like you did. If there are any negatives I can think of about this camera is they are as follows. first you have to remove the entire bottom and take out the takeup real to load the camera. And second, because of it's age it is fragil. There are parts that used organic glue that can break down over time. So you have to treat the camera delicately. On the other hand, If anything did happen to the camera, there are people with the knowledge and equipment needed, to fix most problems that occur with this vintage of camera. I see many years of beautiful photos left for her to shoot.
6/29/2006 4:35:46 AM
 
Alberto Bernardoni
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/26/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:34:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:34:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:34:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:34:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 4:34:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
super, but some gadgets are missing !
4/26/2006 4:34:15 AM
 
Jim  M. White
Jim 's Photo Courses:
4-Week Short Course: Learning Your Canon Digital SLR
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:22:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:22:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:22:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:22:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:22:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
What else can one say about this classic of classics. One of my favorite "incognito" cameras. Great image quality without drawing atention.
2/8/2006 6:22:24 PM
 
George Anderson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:13:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:13:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:13:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:13:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 12:13:51 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Beautifully-made, reliable 35mm rangefinder. Leica wide-angle M mount lenses are really something, wonderful color and contrast. I had a bit of trouble getting used to the separate finder for wider lenses. I had a friend who laughed at the expense when I bought my first Leica (secondhand), but in the interim he's been through $3,5000 worth of unreliable DSLR cameras -who's laughing, now??
1/30/2006 12:13:51 PM
 
Madeline Ellis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/13/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
All I can say is I like my Leica and if it weren't for digital, I would be using it more.
1/26/2006 5:59:54 AM
 
Madeline Ellis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/13/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 5:59:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
All I can say is I like my Leica and if it weren't for digital, I would be using it more.
1/26/2006 5:59:12 AM
 
Joost Duppen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:10:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:10:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:10:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:10:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:10:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
light camera, easy to handle. Very good lenses. Not to big. Very fast way to focus. Doesn't make to much noise when taking a picture
3/8/2005 1:10:22 PM
 
Michael Schaaf 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 1:22:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 1:22:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 1:22:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 1:22:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2005 1:22:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I use the optional Leica grip and the Abrahamson soft release wich make this camera quite perfect. Als long as you can live without autofocus and autoexposure, of course.
2/14/2005 1:22:10 PM
 
Andy Middleton 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 7:57:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 7:57:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 7:57:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 7:57:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 7:57:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
built to last...a dream to use...the best.
10/23/2004 7:57:43 AM
 
ASLAN OGUZ
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/1/2001
Contact ASLAN
ASLAN's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:14:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:14:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:14:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:14:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 2:14:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a classical camera and I love it.
10/22/2004 2:14:18 AM
 
Pieter Poll
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/31/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 9:23:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 9:23:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 9:23:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 9:23:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 9:23:24 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great minimalist camera, especially for travel. Outstanding optics and great results. Not the camera for fast action.
3/31/2004 9:23:24 AM
 

First 10 of 14 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy M6 Camera from Amazon.com