Leicaflex SL2


Leica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Classic 35mm Cameras

LIFE ON THE LI RI...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


3 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Joel W. Spingarn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:47:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:47:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:47:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:47:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 7:47:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The pics I will upload were taken with this camera and I consider it the best in its time. I now have a Nikon D70s and hope to become proficent in digital photography.
2/5/2006 7:47:10 PM
 
Joann Cablas
joann-cablas-photography.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:58:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:58:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:58:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:58:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:58:51 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the quality of the lens, it's small and easy to hold and carry in a pocket. I like that it only requires two AA batteries, that are rechargeable. I like the speed at which it's ready to take pictures, short wait time for the data to be downloaded to the smartmedia card. I like it's macro capability, if I'm shooting texting, an object or person it's usually nice and clear. I do not like that when I use the zoom feature, the pictures are typically blurred. I wish it had the ability to change lens. When I was buying the camera I wished I thought more about buying one with interchangeable lens. I'm not sure I like that it does pixaltion to achieve 4.3.
10/1/2003 2:58:51 PM
 
John R. Keistler 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 12:00:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 12:00:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 12:00:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 12:00:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 12:00:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
All three original Leicaflex cameras are examples of the finest German design and execution. The SL2 was the last 'Flex before the R series. It is extremely usable today with the current lenses. It offers manual-only exposure setting, not a limitation for any capable photographer, and can be quite fast in use for those who know photography. However, today, it is considered a collectible camera, and not one I'd use every day. More modern R-bodies are both less expensive and more practical as a base for the world-famous Leica lenses.
4/12/2003 12:00:03 AM
 

3 Reviews