PowerShot A620 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras


View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot A620 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 20 shooting modes including My Color settings for customization
    while shooting
  • 7-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 15 x
    20-inch prints
  • 2.0-inch vari-angle LCD display; 4x optical zoom
  • Shoot high-quality movies at up to 60 frames per second
  • DIG!C II Image Processor for faster processing, vibrant colors,
    and excellent image quality

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 31 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Diane Schmidt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2007 4:29:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2007 4:29:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2007 4:29:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2007 4:29:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2007 4:29:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the first digital camera I've purchased and have found it easy to use. It generally takes decent shots for automatic exposures. However, most shots in my gallery are manual and I am impressed by the manual setting capabilities. I do wish that the 4x zoom and f stop range was larger. At times focusing in low light situations is troublesome.
4/2/2007 4:29:20 PM
 
Kayleigh R. Carter 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2007 8:06:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2007 8:06:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2007 8:06:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2007 8:06:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2007 8:06:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've had this camera for the better part of a year. It's an absolutly amazing camera. As long as you put it on the right setting, or even play with the settings and get lucky, you will get an amazing picture.

Very low light/yellow light pictures might be unsaveable, but I've never really needed to do any pictures like that.

This camera is also prone to blurryness. I have an absolute zero when it comes to steady hands, my hands constantly twitch, but mostly I don't have that large of a problem. Infact sometimes that blurryness gives my photo's that added umph that I needed!

The battery life is confusing, but not in a bad way. In fact, my camera battery has run on low for about a week now.

I'm very glad I bought it.

3/26/2007 8:06:20 PM
 
Angela DeAngelo 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2006 9:31:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2006 9:31:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2006 9:31:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2006 9:31:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2006 9:31:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had this camera for about 13 months and I have taken over 5,300 photos with this camera. That in itself speaks volumes.

I love the fit of the camera in my hand. I love the long battery life.

I receive compliments on all my photos and I give credit where it is due. The 7.1-megapixel pictures look great!!

This camera is in my purse at all times because I use it almost every day.

The only drawback that I have with the camera is it's 4x zoom. But that is better than my last camera, so I am still ahead of the game.

I would suggest this camera to anyone who likes the ease of automatic settings with the ability to do much more intricate settings.

11/1/2006 9:31:13 PM
 
Holly J. Berkimer 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 6:00:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 6:00:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 6:00:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 6:00:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 6:00:31 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I haven't figured how to take the best photos when there is low light, but other than that I love it.
7/2/2006 6:00:31 PM
 
Lino V. Almuenda 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 4:55:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 4:55:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 4:55:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 4:55:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 4:55:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good in macro and close up shots...
6/26/2006 4:55:43 AM
 
Leyla Cadabal 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:53:43 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:53:43 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:53:43 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:53:43 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:53:43 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great printouts, too bulky though
6/20/2006 9:53:43 AM
 
Tammy M. Ekstrom
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/13/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:43:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:43:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:43:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:43:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:43:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I Probably should wait a little while longer to give my review, since I am a relative new "Photographer"....But I will say, so far, it is fantastic..I have had the camera a week so far after researching online and reading everyone else's thoughts on the Canon 620 for the last few months....I believe I made the right choice for me...Very crisp and true to color pictures as well as very easy to operate....I love, love love my new camera and would recommend it to anyone.
6/18/2006 8:43:30 PM
 
Christina Beckerman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/18/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:13:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:13:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:13:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:13:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:13:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE this camera! I love that it is fully manual or automatic, that it takes AA batteries but doesn't have a poor battery life, that it so far hasn't caused any "glowing eye" photos with my pets (no idea why that is though...)....most of all I LOVE that I can take macro shots from as close as 1 cm! The ONLY downside I've seen to this sucker so far, is that it makes a very high pitched sound when you are focusing and taking photos...its an evil sound (if you happen to be able to hear at the frequency...it is VERY high pitched)...but the photo quality and price that I paid ($230 shipped from www.beachcamera.com) more than make up for it. I've only had this camera a few days and I've never really used manual settings before, but I've taken some of the best photos I ever have with this sucker....I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to play around with manual settings, take good quality photos, and not pay an outrageous price.
6/8/2006 9:13:54 PM
 
Benjamin S. Purvis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:21:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:21:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:21:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:21:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:21:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have only had this one for a day, but so far so great! I love all of the features that are on the A620, and the macro is excellent.
6/8/2006 6:21:54 PM
 
Kathleen Eddowes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 4:16:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 4:16:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 4:16:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 4:16:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 4:16:59 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I am just starting my Photography training - so this camera is great for learning - but I can't find a telephoto lens for it. But I do have a Macro lens and I love it.
6/8/2006 4:16:59 PM
 
SUSAN A. O'BRIEN 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:12:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:12:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:12:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:12:35 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 9:12:35 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I no longer have this camera. I bought it to carry in my purse. I actually loved everything about the camera except that I could not see the LCD in the East Texas bright sun so I couldn't change any of the settings, i.e. exposure compensation, etc.
6/8/2006 9:12:35 AM
 

First 10 of 31 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy PowerShot A620 Digital Camera from Amazon.com