Maxxum/Dynax 5D Digital SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Still Dawn
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum/Dynax 5D Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Comprehensive image adjustment and control, including zone
    matching, for creative imaging
  • Stores images on CF or SD cards or microdrive; powered by one
    NP-400 lithium-ion battery
  • 6.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 14 x
    19-inch prints
  • 2.5-inch LCD; body-integral CCD-shift; comes with 18-70mm lens
  • Comprehensive image adjustment and control for creative
    applications

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 46 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Anita Ho 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:07:03 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is the epitome of SLR Digital cameras. Every picture comes out crystal clear and you can do tons of neat things with all the doo-dads and gadgetry offered!
9/11/2008 7:07:03 AM
 
Roger Carapetian 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:12:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:12:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:12:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:12:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2006 11:12:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my Minolta cameras, both my Dynax 5 and 5D are very good.
5D is a great camera for someone like me who wants to take good picturs but do not want to pay for print. I have every thing I want.
10/6/2006 11:12:38 AM
 
Chris Grey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/9/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2006 2:19:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2006 2:19:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2006 2:19:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2006 2:19:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2006 2:19:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, not available anymore, now that Sony owns them. But:
Bought this in November 2005 and have shot about 5000 pictures with it so I know my way around it pretty well. I get compliments on my photos all the time "that is a great camera" lol. apparently doesn't take a photographer behind the lens! This camera has all the bells and whistles you could want on a camera and they are intuitively positioned for ease of use. My fingers just fall where they have to be to get the camera to shift the way the light demands.
I love the fact that I can use my 20 year old Maxxum 75-300 zoom on the anti-shake body with excellent results. I shot my son's high hurdles race at 3fps and got a terrific photo of him.
My only complaints would be that the viewscreen has a lower resolution rate than most cameras in this class. Having just discovered the joys of HDR, I'm sorry the auto bracketing only allows +/- .07 stops.
BUT, this camera has rejuvenated my love of photography! I literally take it everywhere I go and have been rewarded with that decision with some once in a lifetime photos. If you can find one, buy it.
8/9/2006 2:19:17 PM
 
Sue Miss Bernhard - Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:38:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:38:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:38:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:38:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 6:38:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Its excellant for me as I had never used an SLR before - with this I have the best of both worlds. It's just a shame they have stopped making cameras!
7/7/2006 6:38:08 AM
 
Jane Tweedy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 3:18:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 3:18:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 3:18:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 3:18:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 3:18:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great digital SLR. Love it.
7/6/2006 3:18:37 AM
 
James Parnell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:39:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:39:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:39:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:39:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2006 3:39:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great DSLR ti bad is no longer on the market after only 6 months.
6/24/2006 3:39:58 AM
 
Bettie Harmon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:17:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:17:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:17:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:17:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:17:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Numerous settings for everyshot possible, many different functions, rapis shots, beautiful pictures. .Can attach different lens.I wouldn't trade it for any other camera.
5/30/2006 1:17:01 PM
 
Bettie Harmon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:08:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:08:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:08:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:08:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 1:08:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is easy to operate, has many, many features. Can attach different size lens. It has tele and macro capability. Ten different settings for shots. A viewer to see photos taken. Too many features to mention
5/30/2006 1:08:36 PM
 
Frank  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:39:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:39:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:39:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:39:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 8:39:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My Minolta 5D is awesome. I love every feature about it.
5/24/2006 8:39:54 PM
 
Alison E. Copeland
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 6:49:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 6:49:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 6:49:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 6:49:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 6:49:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's the only digital SLR I've ever used, so I don't really know what I'm talking about. But I like the anti-shake and the huge screen.
5/23/2006 6:49:17 PM
 
ALLISON C. STACHURA
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:24:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:24:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:24:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:24:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 7:24:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy taking pictures with my Maxxum 5D by Minolta. We started looking for a good digital and found that the 5D offered changeable lenses, black and white, and being able to set aperture and shutter speeds. I and my husband take pictures for a hobby. I needed a camera to offer all things we enjoyed of a 35mm but in digital format. Minolta gave us that with the 5D, since my other three 35mm are Minolta it was not hard to learn to take pictures with the 5D. We were not looking for high pixel but good quality results from the pictures we have found that in the 5D. It has been a joy to be able to see the result of a picture with the large screen it offers right after you take it.
5/22/2006 7:24:36 PM
 

First 10 of 46 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Maxxum/Dynax 5D Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com