F5 SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Blue and Yellow -...
View photos created with this camera

The F5 SLR Camera


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


102 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Paulo Roberto Franco Andrade 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 2:18:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 2:18:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 2:18:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 2:18:08 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2007 2:18:08 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a full film camera.
5/20/2007 2:18:08 AM
 
Jonathan M. Reeves
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/14/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:09:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:09:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:09:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:09:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 8:09:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Like everything about it. Wish there were more AF options and of course cam 2000:). An updated matrix metering would be nice too
7/7/2006 8:09:01 PM
 
Joseph Fasel Jr. 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:15:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:15:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:15:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:15:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 9:15:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Nothing Compares
6/20/2006 9:15:10 PM
 
Gil Levy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:56:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:56:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:56:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:56:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:56:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very versatile camera. Heavy duty. Can cope with most extreme light conditions. simply amazing state of the art till this day.
5/19/2006 6:56:52 AM
 
Rashmi Adiga 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 12:58:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 12:58:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 12:58:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 12:58:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 12:58:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
its great..i would have liked it to be digital though!
5/3/2006 12:58:48 PM
 
uae_ photographer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 12:51:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 12:51:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 12:51:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 12:51:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 12:51:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought my Nikon almost 10 years ago, it was new back then. I explored & loved photography with it. Al my pictures were taking with it. I have never used a DSLR. But this year my maid stole my precious camera. And I canít replace it! Itís been discontinued, a lot of friends told my to replace it with a used one from eBay, but its more than just a camera to me ÖI hope you understand what I mean. Itís the best camera ever.
4/20/2006 12:51:36 PM
 
Ben  A. Crittenden 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 4:39:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 4:39:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 4:39:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 4:39:37 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 4:39:37 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it works fine for what i use it for.
4/7/2006 4:39:37 PM
 
Shin Yun 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 6:46:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 6:46:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 6:46:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 6:46:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 6:46:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Weighs a little but easy to grip. Lots of good fearures. Takes AA batteries.
3/20/2006 6:46:17 PM
 
SIR Juan Herrerro rodriguez 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 1:09:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 1:09:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 1:09:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 1:09:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 1:09:45 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it is a F 5 made in ccoperation with kodak DCS 620
3/15/2006 1:09:45 AM
 
Poornima Makaram 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 4:04:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 4:04:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 4:04:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 4:04:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 4:04:07 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
One of the best cameras i have used, except for the weight
3/7/2006 4:04:07 AM
 
Thomas A. Brown 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 7:31:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 7:31:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 7:31:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 7:31:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2006 7:31:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
excellent autofocus
2/21/2006 7:31:25 PM
 
Jim Macino
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/23/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 5:01:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 5:01:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 5:01:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 5:01:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 5:01:04 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Held it's resale value longer than I expected.
2/8/2006 5:01:04 PM
 
Max D. Shuster 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:02:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:02:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:02:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:02:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2006 1:02:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great camera
1/19/2006 1:02:42 AM
 
Roberta E. Wall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/27/2005
bobiwall.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:27:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:27:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:27:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:27:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 10:27:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
best SLR film camera
12/28/2005 10:27:29 AM
 
Jenny Gilman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 7:50:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 7:50:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 7:50:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 7:50:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 7:50:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the Nikon F5. I have owned several great cameras but this one tops the list of best film cameras ever made.
11/16/2005 7:50:41 AM
 
Alan W. Zacek
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 7:28:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 7:28:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 7:28:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 7:28:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 7:28:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I likne the motordrive on the camera, very fast, allows good action photos. Camera is not very heavy and easy to use.
10/25/2005 7:28:38 PM
 
Fred M. Aspli 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:03:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:03:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:03:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:03:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 1:03:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best 35mm film based camera ever!!!
10/17/2005 1:03:09 PM
 
Natalie Worth 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 9:20:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 9:20:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 9:20:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 9:20:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 9:20:46 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
old but a gem
10/11/2005 9:20:46 AM
 
Barbara Fasulo 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 12:41:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 12:41:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 12:41:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 12:41:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 12:41:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just got this camera as a used item. It Is a really "fast" camera. A black spot is that it is really heavy.
10/6/2005 12:41:00 AM
 
Hovig Hovsep Ghazarian 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:20:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:20:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:20:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:20:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 8:20:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Nothing to say much than a great camera
9/27/2005 8:20:03 AM
 
Wayne Turk
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/5/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:30:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:30:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:30:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:30:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2005 11:30:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this camera, had it for a few months now, and I am still learning new things about it. Still keeping my manual focus Minolta's, but this thing is a real work horse also.
9/10/2005 11:30:51 AM
 
Serge Batyrshin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 6:38:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 6:38:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 6:38:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 6:38:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 6:38:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best 35mm film camera on Earth.
9/9/2005 6:38:42 AM
 
Serge Batyrshin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 5:37:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 5:37:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 5:37:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 5:37:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 5:37:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best 35mm film camera on Earth. Rugged, fast AF, precise metering. I got 3 lenses for it: 80-200mm Nikkor 2.8D, 24-85mm Nikkor and 50mm 1.4D. It's big and heavy, but that's how it is with pro-cameras and lenses. The camera is indistructable.
9/9/2005 5:37:11 AM
 
Edward  DM Gultom 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 9:05:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 9:05:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 9:05:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 9:05:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2005 9:05:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
superb camera ever build...!!
6/7/2005 9:05:40 PM
 
Luis Louro
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/1/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 9:12:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 9:12:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 9:12:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 9:12:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 9:12:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best 35mm camera
5/2/2005 9:12:43 AM
 
Gary M. Lyons 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:23:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:23:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:23:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:23:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 2:23:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I believe that the F100 is just as good as the F5. The F6 is the best film camera Nikon has ever produced.
3/16/2005 2:23:08 PM
 
Jeff B. Campbell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 4:04:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 4:04:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 4:04:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 4:04:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2005 4:04:32 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A Perfect camera for any shot. Tough, durable, accurate.
3/9/2005 4:04:32 AM
 
Milton Durango 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 5:42:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 5:42:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 5:42:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 5:42:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 5:42:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best Nikon i've ever owned, flawless use, never lets you down. !!!
3/5/2005 5:42:04 PM
 
Will Hamilton 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:30:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:30:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:30:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:30:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 8:30:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! Perfect
2/15/2005 8:30:15 AM
 
Jason W. Jerominek 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:04:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:04:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:04:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:04:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:04:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I`m still learning on it but I don`t think there`s anything it can`t do.
2/11/2005 2:04:25 PM
 
Wai Peng Leong 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:34:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:34:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:34:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:34:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2005 6:34:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Many professional features help me to take best pictures
1/30/2005 6:34:00 PM
 
Gabi Arndt 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 10:06:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 10:06:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 10:06:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 10:06:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 10:06:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's a reliable camera which gives you every opportunity you want to have beside that it's not large or medlium format.It's reliable whether you use it in full program, aperture or shutter priority or in manual program. The equipment line which is available allows you to do every job you can even imagine and the "NikonProfessionalEurope" is of tremendous support if any problem comes up (mainly created by the photographer). The F5 is weather (heat or cold) and realy shock resistant. The only thing you might miss are a few more measure points for "autofocus functions", there are some situations in which you have to change to "manual focus" even if you don't feel like doing it.
1/20/2005 10:06:17 AM
 
William H. Parker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/6/2004
Contact William
William's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 10:42:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 10:42:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 10:42:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 10:42:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 10:42:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera. Does anything you're smart enough to set it up to do.
12/29/2004 10:42:37 PM
 
Michael Loewenberg 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 6:11:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 6:11:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 6:11:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 6:11:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 6:11:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
come on! it's a nikon f5! other than weighing more than my daughter, i''s perfect!
12/21/2004 6:11:49 AM
 
Wendy A. Zweifel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:37:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:37:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:37:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:37:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 8:37:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I waited years for this film camera. There isn't anything it can't do with me.
12/20/2004 8:37:00 AM
 
Phillip Morris Jr. 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 8:40:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 8:40:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 8:40:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 8:40:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 8:40:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My work horse. Love it.
11/29/2004 8:40:08 PM
 
Gerald Botkin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 3:15:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 3:15:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 3:15:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 3:15:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 3:15:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best Film camera made!
11/17/2004 3:15:36 PM
 
Abby Silverstein 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 8:44:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 8:44:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 8:44:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 8:44:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 8:44:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like everything about this camera except the weight. There is certainly something to be said for the newer and lighter weight 35mm SLR cameras.
10/19/2004 8:44:59 AM
 
Christopher Munton 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:03:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:03:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:03:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:03:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 5:03:37 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Top notch
10/12/2004 5:03:37 AM
 
david H. casian
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2004
Contact david
david's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 11:02:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 11:02:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 11:02:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 11:02:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 11:02:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have other Nikon slr' cameras and have had other slr camera and this is the best unit i have had my hands on
9/30/2004 11:02:15 AM
 
antonio nunes 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 4:59:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 4:59:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 4:59:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 4:59:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2004 4:59:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've owned my F5 for quite some time and it has not once let me down.Its wonderful metering and top notch quality and reliability has given me great photos of Patagonia and Pantanal taken at the most difficult of conditions along with other less tough trips in South America. I wouldn't take anything less than this already legendary camera in my expeditions.
9/21/2004 4:59:35 PM
 
Pamela J. Pearson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 1:26:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 1:26:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 1:26:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 1:26:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2004 1:26:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoy this camera. I especially like the continuous shooting elements and fast tracking it provides.
8/22/2004 1:26:20 PM
 
Bob Fehringer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 3:40:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 3:40:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 3:40:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 3:40:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 3:40:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you have to ask, you wouldn't understand.
8/7/2004 3:40:53 PM
 
Kathryn Jeremiah 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 6:08:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 6:08:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 6:08:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 6:08:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2004 6:08:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am giving it a 9 because I haven't used the camera to my fullest and am considering what photos I have seen taken with it. The electronics are so interesting. I wish someone would have told me the perfect lenses to use in the Wide angle range and the zoom range. Still do. There are so many settings you can have a ball. I do have a love for the photos taken with a large format camera. The ultimate goal.
7/27/2004 6:08:18 PM
 
member 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/18/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:23:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:23:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:23:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:23:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:23:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
PERFECTION HAS BEEN ACHIEVED! i simply can't say enough about this camera, or for that matter, nikon! (i had previously considered a canon. but i felt the weight distribution and function layouts were more friendly than the canon was).
7/19/2004 5:23:23 AM
 
Mary E. Hamel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 1:10:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 1:10:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 1:10:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 1:10:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 1:10:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Tons of options, love the 100& viewfinder, good to learn with, I don't care what anyone says on that one! It isn't that hard to operate if you use it and experiment -- read as much as you can about it from the manual and what other photographers have to say about it. Heavy, but you get your weight lifting workout too.
7/17/2004 1:10:59 PM
 
Mary E. Hamel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:04:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:04:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:04:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:04:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 9:04:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it. I questioned, before buying it, as to whether I should start with something less complicated and more for an intermediate photographer. I'm glad I bought it -- it's easy to learn if you keep using it. Buy the best lenses and camera that you can. Yes, it's hefty! People comment on this when they see me hiking along with my camera and tripod -- I just tell them that I don't have to work out with weights! I work out with my camera!
7/13/2004 9:04:24 PM
 
Adnan N. Qureshi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:50:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:50:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:50:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:50:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:50:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If it has been at the top for 8 long years in this rapidly evolving competition, it is definitely imported from the future! The only thing lacking is a Digital Back... and that would keep it on top for another decade!
7/9/2004 7:50:01 AM
 
Adnan N. Qureshi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:48:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:48:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:48:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:48:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:48:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If it has been at the top for 8 long years in this rapidly evolving competition, it is definitely imported from the future! The only thing lacking is a Digital Back... and that would keep it on top for another decade!
7/9/2004 7:48:50 AM
 
Adnan N. Qureshi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:47:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:47:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:47:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:47:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 7:47:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
If it has been at the top for 8 long years in this rapidly evolving competition, it is definitely imported from the future! The only thing lacking is a Digital Back... and that would keep it on top for another decade!
7/9/2004 7:47:51 AM
 
Gary L. Burdette 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 8:55:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 8:55:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 8:55:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 8:55:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 8:55:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F5's in my arsenal have served me well for years. The choice of metering modes, 8FPS, rapid rewind, the ability to customize the camera to your specific needs, autofocus, focus tracking, makes it my choice for wildlife photography. The F5 is built tough and can take a lot of abuse and keep on ticking. Nikon has been my choice since my early days in Vietnam.
6/14/2004 8:55:59 AM
 
Barrett Machere 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 8:00:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 8:00:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 8:00:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 8:00:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 8:00:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
One of the best cameras I have ever used. The only thing that keeps it from being a ten, buttons could be bigger.
5/24/2004 8:00:08 AM
 
Luis A. Diaz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 5:33:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 5:33:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 5:33:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 5:33:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 5:33:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F5, is a camera that anybody can use. It's a camera that when I go in to my camera bag, it practically gravitates to my hand. The ease of using this camera is beyond excellent and I know that I can count on it every time. The combinnation between the SB flash system and the F5 is the perfect system. When I take pictures outdoors or inside with fill flash and the program mode it never fails. All I can say is that it has never failed me.
5/19/2004 5:33:48 PM
 
Michael Greidus 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:54:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:54:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:54:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:54:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:54:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
THE BEST FILM CAMERA EVER. A BIT EXPENSIVE AND HEAVY BUT RELIABLE AND HAS EVERYTHING YOU NEED
5/19/2004 1:54:04 PM
 
AdriŠn Blanco 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 5:04:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 5:04:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 5:04:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 5:04:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 5:04:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just Perfect
5/18/2004 5:04:08 PM
 
Roger Wilkinson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 6:13:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 6:13:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 6:13:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 6:13:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2004 6:13:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I got the F5 second hand but its in great condition and I think is a better investment than a D100 at the moment. Its good for photogaphing sport because it will take up to 8 photos per second. Its also simpler to use than my F80/N80.
4/29/2004 6:13:19 AM
 
Scott J. Gianchetta
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/19/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 5:39:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 5:39:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 5:39:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 5:39:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2004 5:39:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best Film Camera I have ever owned!
4/21/2004 5:39:05 PM
 
Don Eldridge 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 10:12:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 10:12:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 10:12:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 10:12:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 10:12:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Haven't had this camera to long but so far...unbelievable!
4/14/2004 10:12:27 PM
 
Huey Hurst 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 8:43:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 8:43:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 8:43:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 8:43:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 8:43:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great camera but very heavy for long trekking adventures. prefer the f100
4/8/2004 8:43:02 PM
 
Jos Gallardo 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 2:59:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 2:59:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 2:59:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 2:59:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 2:59:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best!!
3/23/2004 2:59:47 PM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 5:00:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 5:00:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 5:00:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 5:00:02 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 5:00:02 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a ture classic
3/23/2004 5:00:02 AM
 
Mike Schiller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:50:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:50:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:50:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:50:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:50:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
love it
3/21/2004 7:50:17 AM
 
Paul McLeod 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:31:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:31:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:31:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:31:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:31:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Couldn't ask for anything better! perfect system for myself and what i do
1/31/2004 3:31:14 PM
 
Barbara Williams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:32:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best Camera I've ever used.
1/31/2004 1:32:58 PM
 
Barbara Williams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:17:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:17:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:17:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:17:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 1:17:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent.
1/31/2004 1:17:07 PM
 
Surjit Nagra 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 7:10:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 7:10:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 7:10:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 7:10:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 7:10:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
What can I say that hasn't been said?

Good solid build, even though a bit heavy. Heavy on the battery consumption.

These are only minor points considering what the camera has to offer.

Even though a good photo is all down to the photographer not the camera, the quality of the photos is excellent.

This camera is a must buy. This is the first Nikon I have bought and it has also been the best camera I have bought.

Depending on your budget, this is the only 35mm SLR you should consider buying.

1/29/2004 7:10:05 AM
 
Jennifer Bixler 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:56:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:56:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:56:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:56:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:56:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love everything about this camera except the weight. I look forward to owning a Nikon Digital SLR in the future!
1/27/2004 1:56:54 PM
 
Gary W. Potts 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 4:33:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 4:33:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 4:33:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 4:33:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 4:33:28 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
An extraordinary camera with multiple features. A fantastic, innovative metering system coupled with a vast array of lenses. Study, built for hard work and frequent use.
1/20/2004 4:33:28 AM
 
Shawn M. Knox
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/19/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:12:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:12:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:12:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:12:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 1:12:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
By far the best I've ever owned. I actually bought it because it is heavy! I like a camera that is ruggedly built and this one is just that.
1/8/2004 1:12:54 PM
 
Tom R. Danyluk 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:20:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:20:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:20:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:20:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:20:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera for its versatility but with all the equipment I have for it,I need a case the size of a small suit case to bring along with it.Thank God Nikon has made a digital slr.
1/8/2004 11:20:54 AM
 
Agustua Fajarmon 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 3:04:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 3:04:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 3:04:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 3:04:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 3:04:29 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great camera...i love it!
1/7/2004 3:04:29 AM
 
Tynan Nigel Freeman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 3:25:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 3:25:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 3:25:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 3:25:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 3:25:13 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Solid camera, photos in my mind should just happen, but only if you search for them.
1/4/2004 3:25:13 AM
 
antonio nunes 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 5:12:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 5:12:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 5:12:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 5:12:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 5:12:28 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
my fuji finepix 602z is pretty much a nice camera if you intend to use it as a back up camera for a digital slr. it gives you nice pictures when the resolution is et at 1M or higher,but is somewhat slow when you need action photos. I like it a lot despite some of its flaws.
12/30/2003 5:12:28 AM
 
Hazrul Abdul Halim 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 6:19:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 6:19:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 6:19:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 6:19:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 6:19:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Almost Complete SLR
12/29/2003 6:19:35 PM
 
Shawn McCarthy 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2003 7:45:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2003 7:45:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2003 7:45:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2003 7:45:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2003 7:45:14 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Its a little heavy but it is very dependable.
12/13/2003 7:45:14 PM
 
Bill Andrade 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2003 6:50:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2003 6:50:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2003 6:50:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2003 6:50:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2003 6:50:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
BEST OUT OF 7 SLRS EVER OWNED.
11/30/2003 6:50:04 PM
 
Steve Gunn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 3:16:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 3:16:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 3:16:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 3:16:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/28/2003 3:16:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great
11/28/2003 3:16:17 PM
 
John Bailey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:53:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:53:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:53:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:53:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:53:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F-5 is a fantastic camera. The controls are right where they need to be. The cost is pretty high by my standards but it is well worth it.
11/25/2003 8:53:56 AM
 
Jakub Abramczyk 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 5:10:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 5:10:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 5:10:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 5:10:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 5:10:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I only used this camera for five days and really liked it. Yes, it is heavy but this weight is necessary to balance longer lens (which it does). The light meter is the best ever. I was shooting slides with matrix metering and incident meter and photos made with F5°¶s recommended values are better although sometimes it°¶s impossible to distinguish! It handles well even difficult situations. This heavy rugged camera is fast, precise, easy to use and it seems to be very reliable. I would not mind to see it dropped on the ground, and am pretty sure it would be just fine. I heard it can make 8fps but did not try it (forgottenÉľ). In type of work I normally do this does not matter, what does matter however is mirror lock-up, shutter blind, and DOF preview and F5 has them. There was only one thing I did not like about it. I normally work with F100 and it does over perform F5 with its red backlit focusing points. It is impossible to distinguish black ones in F5 in dark situations.
11/18/2003 5:10:13 PM
 
Alan Lord 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:15:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:15:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:15:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:15:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:15:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent Camera. Tough, hardy. Good workhorse. Can stand some ill treatment. Heavy with the eight AA batteries but lasts a long time with good batteries. Nice selection of optional lenses and easy to interchange lenses. Also nice options for viewing with conventional plus top view and magnified view for better focusing.
10/24/2003 7:15:27 AM
 
Theresa A. Bish
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/26/2002
Contact Theresa
Theresa's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 4:47:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 4:47:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 4:47:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 4:47:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2003 4:47:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best camera I've ever owned, although very large, bulky and extremely heavy when you add a large lens and speedflash. But worth every penny when you see the results.
10/23/2003 4:47:47 PM
 
Toni A. Martin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/17/2002
tonimartinphotography.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2003 2:07:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2003 2:07:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2003 2:07:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2003 2:07:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2003 2:07:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really liked the camera, except that I rented it and it was very old and that particular tank had been through a couple of wars.
10/13/2003 2:07:34 PM
 
Melva Garrison 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 12:36:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 12:36:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 12:36:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 12:36:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2003 12:36:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A powerhouse in the world of professional film SLR cameras, the Nikon F5 is absolutely wonderful. It is almost identical to the D1x and offers ease of use with superior results. There is nothing that I don't appreciate about the F5, and while the price could be prohibitive for some, it occurs to me that it is well with it.
10/2/2003 12:36:04 PM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:28:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
First of all the camera doesn't make bad photo's we do. Any camera can take fantastic photo's if you know how to use it and know it's limitations. Enough said. I use several cameras. A Nikon Ftn, Nikon F2, Nikkormat Ftn and my F5. I love them for different reasons. The F5 offers me so many features it's sometimes hard to remember to use them all. Moose Peterson has an excellent article on his site that will give you some tips. I use my F5 primarily for action (My Children) and sports. It excelles with it's focus tracking and amazingly fast focusing speed. At 8 frames per seconds it's hard to miss a shot. On the other hand I use it in manual focus mode for scenics and portraits. I have yet to get an over or under exposed photo. It is fantastic. With my 180mm AF lens it rocks. It is also very nice to be able to use my older AI lens. It goes to center weighted metering. I have some fantastic portraits taken this way with my older 50-300 Nikkor lens. I love it for this very reason, Nikon doesn't make you give up all of your great older lens like Canon does. So I can take my Ol' Nikon F2 along with it's 50-300 and switch to either camera if I want. You can look up all of the specs for the camera on any Nikon site. In my humble opinion
Nikon rules. There isn't a better camera around. Oh and remember it's okay to break the photography rules. Be creative and select the best tool for the job, whether it's an Nikon Ftn, F2, F5 or what ever. Do it your way.
10/1/2003 6:28:24 PM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:44:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:44:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:44:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:44:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:44:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
You can't buy a better camera wow!
9/29/2003 10:44:59 PM
 
Shari Morris 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 4:29:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 4:29:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 4:29:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 4:29:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2003 4:29:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It TOTALLY ROCKS !!!!
9/14/2003 4:29:42 PM
 
victor C. generalao 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
its a good one
9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM
 
victor C. generalao 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
its a good one
9/11/2003 1:13:10 PM
 
Elizabeth D. Cabrera 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:59:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F5 camera is the best camera that I own. It is accurate, steady, fast, excellent for fast moving objects. I highly recommend this camera to anyone, as well as the lens 28-70 which provides a three-D effect and high performance.
9/2/2003 7:59:20 PM
 
Elizabeth D. Cabrera 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:58:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:58:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:58:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:58:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 7:58:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F5 camera is the best camera that I own. It is accurate, steady, fast, excellent for fast moving objects. I highly recommend this camera to anyone, as well as the lens 28-70 which provides a three-D effect and high performance.
9/2/2003 7:58:02 PM
 
Gilberto R. Mariotti 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 3:53:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 3:53:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 3:53:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 3:53:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 3:53:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very nice camera:professional!But for manual fotos I"d like to buy a new FM3A.By the way:I'm reading the ‹nderstanding Exposure" from Bryan Peterson:it is a simply fantastic book. (and very expensive for my pocket!) Congratulations Mr.Bryan!!you realy know how to teach.
9/2/2003 3:53:52 PM
 
Dee Caraballo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 6:33:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 6:33:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 6:33:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 6:33:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 6:33:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I adore my F5. Yeah, I could complain about how heavy it is, but I won't. All else makes the weight not even a consideration. The machine is a wonder of modern times and I wouldn't trade it for the world.
8/7/2003 6:33:25 PM
 
Jorge De sousa 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 7:43:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 7:43:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 7:43:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 7:43:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 7:43:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just a delight to use!!
7/26/2003 7:43:46 PM
 
Terry  R. Hatfield
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2003
Contact Terry
Terry 's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 5:17:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 5:17:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 5:17:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 5:17:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 5:17:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Best slr made some people say its to heavy but i like the extra weight!
7/9/2003 5:17:15 PM
 
Ivan R. Alvi 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 3:35:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 3:35:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 3:35:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 3:35:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 3:35:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Nikon F5 is an excellent camera. Having used the N90S for a couple of years, I found the view finder to be a problem for me with only it's 95% visibility. Moving to the F5, gave me a 100% visibility via the view finder which I find very helpful for composition.
7/8/2003 3:35:23 PM
 
Bryan F. Peterson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/6/2000
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:36:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:36:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:36:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:36:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 5:36:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best!
7/1/2003 5:36:50 AM
 
LeeAnne Dauwalder Heath
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2003
photographybyleeanne.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 2:43:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 2:43:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 2:43:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 2:43:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 2:43:38 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I still enjoy some features of my old F4. the LCD screens sometimes go against the way I learned photography. The F5 is a great piece , and I will probably never sell it.
6/27/2003 2:43:38 PM
 
Kerry Drager
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/4/2002
Contact Kerry
Kerry's Gallery
kerrydrager.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 8:47:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is definitely worthy of Nikon's "top-of-the-line" status. It has all of the features any serious photographer would EVER want! Besides DOF preview, excellent exposure system and mirror lockup, I also like the viewfinder: It has 100% coverage (what you see is precisely what you'll get in the final image) and it's VERY friendly to eyeglass wearers.
6/17/2003 8:47:34 AM
 
Ed  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Heavy, but the ultimate camera. I can almost guarantee that it will be a better camera than you are a photographer.
 
ROBERT G. DAVIS 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
IT IS BY FAR THE BEST METERING CAMERA I EVER SHOT.........I HAVE BEEN SHOOTING FOR 51 YRS ....THIS CAMERA IS AWSOME ... THE PROGRAMMING OF THIS UNIT WILL LET YOU BE VERY FLEXABLE AND THE SELECTION OF LENSES MAKE IT THE TOPNOTCH CAMERA IN USE TODAY IN THE 35mm FORMAT .. NIKON OUTDID THEMSELVES
 
etan dion zrem 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Well, I bought this camera thinking it was the greatest I could buy. As a working pro I needed something fast, tough, and easy to use. I found it is fast and tough but the locking mechanisms slow me down. So I got an eos 1v hs it is by far the greatest it is much easier to use and much faster.
 
Mark A. Wagner 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Despite the camera's weight and vampire-like alkaline battery consumption, this is one superb camera!!

A few weeks ago I shot some pelicans in flight..my first ever attempt at trying to capture birds in flight. With my F5 set on Ap. Priority, at f5.6, Dynamic Autofocus, and a 70-300mm lens at 300mm, I made a number of superb and very sharp images....

I do not think that any other camera could have nailed this on the first try in the hands of a relative newbie to the F5...

The RGB Matrix is unsurpassed..period...

I have no regrets with this camera, and I am glad that I went with the Nikon system instead of anything Canon makes...

 

102 Reviews