BetterPhoto Q&A
Category: New Questions

Photography Question 
John Foutch
 

Upgrading to Photoshop 7.0


Am I supposed to delete 6.0 when I install the upgrade to 7.0?


To love this question, log in above
8/30/2003 12:28:13 PM

 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com
  If it's an upgrade you bought (it didn't cost $600) simply install it. Don't mess with 6.0 at all. Your upgrade will add the 7.0 features.


To love this comment, log in above
9/1/2003 11:09:22 AM

 
Ms. Shan Canfield   Hmm... I have a Mac, and the upgrade just needs to verify the original's serial number or existance in the Applications Folder. If you've already deleted 6, you just need to type in the serial number for the old one(a dialog box will appear asking for that). Otherwise if 6 is on your computer...it does not replace it, it just installs the full version of 7 in addition to the version 6.


To love this comment, log in above
9/8/2003 7:32:58 AM

 
John Foutch   It appears I have both 6 and 7 on my computer now. Is it okay to remove 6, or is it somehow needed to allow 7 to work? It's no big deal, but if I no longer need 6, I could free up the extra space on the hard drive. Thanks for any help.


To love this comment, log in above
9/8/2003 1:53:49 PM

 
Ms. Shan Canfield   Yes you can trash Adobe Photoshop 6 Program Folder. Adobe Photoshop 7 "upgrade" is a complete installation of its own and has its own folder, prefs, etc. Be sure to visit Adobe's Productus Downloads page and update to version 7.0.1 and download the "ignore Exif data" plugin if you need it, too!


To love this comment, log in above
9/9/2003 1:39:56 PM

 
John Foutch   Ms Canfield, thanks so much for responding to my questions. I do appreciate it. .... John


To love this comment, log in above
9/9/2003 4:23:41 PM

 
Ms. Shan Canfield   My pleasure...have fun photoshopping!


To love this comment, log in above
9/12/2003 11:32:16 PM

 
Log in to respond or ask your own question.